You are here

Euros Lyn to be honoured with Sian Phillips Award

16 September 2015

Award to be presented at the British Academy Cymru Awards, 27 September

Recipient revealed at tonight’s official Nominees Party, held at the Sherman Cymru and attended by actors Mali Harries, Rhian Morgan, Celyn Jones and Cath Ayres and Director Ashley Way

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) in Wales, BAFTA Cymru, has revealed that Euros Lyn, the acclaimed film and television director, will become the 11th recipient of the Siân Phillips Award at the British Academy Cymru Awards on 27 September 2015, as announced at tonight’s BAFTA Cymru Nominees Party.

Euros Lyn is being honoured with the award – sponsored by the Welsh Government – as a Welsh person who has made a significant contribution to international feature filmmaking or network television.

The BAFTA Cymru Nominees Party, at which the announcement was made, celebrates the nominees for the upcoming British Academy Cymru Awards across its 28 categories in Welsh film and television production.

Guests in attendance included Director Ashley Way (The Bastard Executioner, Y Streic a Fi, Doctor Who); actor/writer Celyn Jones (Set Fire to the Stars, Stella, Da Vinci’s Demons) actors Mali Harries (Hinterland, Critical, The Indian Doctor) and Rhian Morgan (Stella, TIR, Gwaith/Cartref), Mal Pope, Connie Fisher, original music nominees Richard James (of Gorky’s Zygotic Monkey) and Mark Thomas (Twin Town), poet and writer Gwyneth Lewis and presenter Adam Price.

Euros Lyn said: “It’s a great honour to follow in the footsteps of the talented Rhys Ifans, Julie Gardner and Matthew Rhys, and to receive the award named in honour of Siân Phillips, the greatest screen hero to come from my home patch of Swansea Valley." 

Hannah Raybould, Director of BAFTA Cymru, said: “A very special congratulations to Euros Lyn, one of Wales’ most successful directors, who will be receiving the Siân Phillips Award at the British Academy Cymru Awards later this month. We look forward to celebrating his considerable achievements then.

“In the meantime, tonight’s Nominees Party has been an opportunity to celebrate the achievements of all our 82 nominees. It’s a fantastic occasion that brings a wealth of talent together for networking and to consider our Welsh film and television sector as a whole.”

The Siân Phillips Award, selected by the BAFTA Cymru Committee, has previously been awarded to Rhys Ifans, Russel T Davies, Michael Sheen, Ioan Gruffudd, Ruth Jones, Rob Brydon, Matthew Rhys, Robert Pugh, Julie Gardner and Jeremy Bowen. This will be the first time that a director has received the special award.

Euros Lyn has won multiple awards for his work, including five BAFTAs for Drama Series, three BAFTA Cymru Awards for Director and an International Emmy. He was born in Cardiff and raised in Gwynedd and Swansea. After studying drama at Manchester University, he returned to Cardiff where he first worked as an assistant director, before directing shows including Pam Fi Duw, Diwrnod Hollol Mindblowing Heddiw, Gwyfyn and Belonging. He has directed several episodes of Doctor Who, including the Hugo Award-winning ‘The Girl in the Fireplace’, while his other work has included Torchwood: Children of Earth, Sherlock, Last Tango In Halifax, Broadchurch, Black Mirror, Happy Valley and Daredevil.  Lyn’s forthcoming projects include Capital, a mini-series adaptation of John Lanchester’s novel for the BBC, and The Library Suicides, a revenge thriller for theatrical release. 

The Economy Minister, Edwina Hart said “We are pleased to sponsor BAFTA Cymru’s Siân Phillips Award, which recognises Welsh contributions to international film and television productions, and I would like to congratulate Euros Lyn on his achievement.

“The Welsh Government is committed to the growth of our creative industries, with recent statistics showing the number of people working in this industry in Wales increased by 58% between 2005 and 2013, with nearly 50,000 people now employed by the sector. This is something we are particularly proud of, with growth in the industry in Wales outstripping that in the UK as a whole over the same period. We are continuing to support the development of this sector, with the aim of attracting more international TV drama productions to Wales and increasing the skills base of local talent to create opportunities and bring wider economic benefits to the whole of Wales.”  

Individuals and companies representing the nominated productions gathered at the Champagne Taittinger-supported BAFTA Cymru Nominees Party, hosted at the Sherman Cymru and, for the second year, supported by Pinewood Studios Wales. Guests were treated to award-wining Welsh cider, wine and beer from local producers as well as champagne from BAFTA partner Champagne Taittinger.

This year, additional public tickets are available for the ceremony, priced at £20, which include a limited-edition Awards brochure and offers for local bars and clubs. Details of the nominees attending will be announced on the 22 September.

Tickets can be purchased from the St David’s Hall Box Office
029 20 878444 /