You are here

The Yugo BAFTA Student Awards

The Yugo BAFTA Student Awards is an annual event celebrating the works of the next generation of talented and innovative storytellers from around the globe.

We ask schools to submit their best work and members of BAFTA review the submissions and select the best entrants over the course of three rounds of voting. 

In the process, we connect the students who participate with the wealth of expertise represented by the BAFTA membership, and provide a showcase for the industry to uncover the latest global talent. 

To strengthen the connection with BAFTA and to support the transition into the industry, we program events throughout the life of the competition.

In 2021, we introduced awards for Games and Immersive content, in addition to our regular slate of awards for film.

We thank our Title Sponsor at Yugo, as well as our Official Airline Partners at Delta, and Virgin Atlantic for their ongoing support.

View the 2024 Yugo BAFTA Student Awards Longlist here.


The Competition

Event: BAFTA Student Film Awards presented by Global Student Accommodation Date: Tuesday 9 July 2019Venue: The Eli and Edythe Broad Stage, 1310 11th St, Santa Monica-Area: Press RoomGetty Images for BAFTA LA

Featuring an evening of student projects selected by a panel of industry professionals, BAFTA members are invited to select the best titles on the night in the categories of animation, live action, documentary, games, and immersive - each of which receives the BAFTA Student Award. A Special Jury comprised of entertainment industry luminaries also recognizes a film with the Special Jury Prize.  Previously limited to schools of the US, in 2017, for the first time the event expanded to include schools from around the world. Click here to learn more about the Student Awards competition!

The Programming

SFA Masterclass

Our Student Awards finalists are often invited to Los Angeles to participate in a number of events and programs designed to expose and introduce them to industry professionals. In addition, those who are shortlisted, reach the finals, or receive awards as part of the BAFTA Student Awards are given opportunities to participate in BAFTA's global New Talent programs.  Click here to learn more about the Student Awards Programming!




Event: BAFTA Student Film AwardsDate: Friday 29 June 2018 Venue: Theatre, Ace Hotel , Los Angeles-Getty Images for BAFTA LA

BAFTA-Yugo Commissioning Grant

The BAFTA-Yugo Short Film Commissioning Grant provides a cash award to support further development of a short film project, opportunities to retain expert advisors, and receive overall creative and strategic feedback throughout the life of the project. Submissions are invited exclusively from participants of our various Learning, Inclusion, and Talent initiatives.

As a key part of BAFTA’s mission to discover, inspire and nurture new talent, the BAFTA Student Film Awards celebrates the very best work from film schools around the world and connects outstanding student filmmakers to the wealth of expertise represented by BAFTA’s membership. BAFTA Commissioning Grants will provide the necessary means for great short film projects to either get started or cross the finish line, with an eye to ensuring that talented filmmakers from more diverse backgrounds are able to achieve their vision on screen. In its first year in 2019, Drama Del Rosario and Lola Blanche-Higgins split the $12,000 prize. 

Previous Winners:

2021 - Present: BAFTA Student Awards


Daria Batueva, Preetam Dhar, Merel Hamers, Hannah Judd, Mogau Kekana, Leroy Le Roux - Thaba Ye (Animation) Gobelins
Laura Rindlisbacher - Happy (Documentary) National Film and Television School
Sophia Bierend - The Taster (Live Action) Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF
Rafif Kalantan - Eros Xavier’s Love Solutions (Games) National Film and Television School
Cameron Kostopoulos - Body of Mine (Immersive) University of Southern California, United States
Tair Wariebi - We Were Meant To (Special Jury Prize) American Film Institute


Yanis Belaid, Eliott Benard, Nicolas Mayeur, Etienne Moulin, Hadrien Pinot, Lisa Vicente, Philippine Singer, and Alice LetailleurLes Larmes de la Seine (Animation) Pôle 3D
Shuhao Tse - Found (Documentary & Special Jury Prize) New York University
Shulamit Lifshitz and Oriel Berkovits - Girl No.60427 (Live Action) The Maaleh Film School
Marcus Keable, Hera Hallsdóttir, Urs Shea, and Stine Lund - Fayburrow (Games) The Animation Workshop VIA University College
Austin Wolfe - Aonar (Immersive) The Glasgow School of Art


Hugo Caby, Antoine Dupriez, Aubin Kubiak, Lucas Lermytte and Zoé Devise - Migrants (Animation) Pôle 3D
Yucong Rae ChenUnfinished Lives (Documentary & Special Jury Prize) University of Southern California
Olivia Hang Zhou - Apart, Together (Live Action) American Film Institute
Guillaume Roux - Symphonia (Games) Isart Digital
Yuxin Gao, Lillyan Ling, Gus Boehling and John Bruneau - Out for Delivery (Immersive) New York University

2017-2020: BAFTA Student Film Awards


Milan Baulard, Flore Dupont, Hugo Potin, Laurie Estampes, Quentin Nory and Ismail Berrahma - Sous La Glace (Animation) École des Nouvelles Images
Lucas Guilkey - What Happened to Dujuan Armstrong? (Documentary) University of California, Berkeley
Tatiana Fedorovskaya - Mum’s Hairpins (Live Action) Higher Courses for Screenwriters and Film Directors
Laura Zéphirin - Making Waves (Special Jury Prize) New York University


Leó Brunel, Loris Cavalier, Camille Jalabert and Oscar Malet - Hors Piste (Animation) École des Nouvelles Images
Ingrid Holmquist and Sana Malik - Guanajuato Norte (Documentary) Columbia University
Asher Jelinsky - Miller & Son (Live Action) American Film Institute
Rikke Gregersen - Dog Eat Dog (Special Jury Prize) Kristiania University College


Esteban Bravo & Beth David - In A Heartbeat (Animation) Ringling College of Design
Kevin Wilson Jr. - My Nephew Emmett  (Live Action) NYU's Tisch School of the Arts
Lindsey Parietti - Blood Island (Documentary) University of the West of England
Lucia Bulgheroni - Inanimate (Special Jury Prize) National Film & Television School


Alicja Jasina - Once Upon a Line  (Tie - Animation) USC
Kal AthannassovEcho Wu - The Wishgranter  (Tie - Animation) Ringling College of Art & Design
Jimmy Keyrouz Nocturne in Black (Live Action) Columbia University
Daphne Matziaraki 4.1 Miles (Documentary & Special Jury Prize) UC Berkley

2014-2016: BAFTA US Student Film Awards


Clara Roquet - El Adiós Columbia University
Seth Boyden - An Object at Rest (Special Jury Prize) CalArts


Henry Hughes - Day One American Film Institute
Zoe Lubeck - Lucy (Special Jury Prize) DePaul University


Annie Silverstein - Skunk (both prizes) UT Austin

2004-2013: BAFTA LA Student Film Awards


Andrej Landin - Into The Silent Sea Chapman University
Patrick Dickinson - Usagi-San (Jury Prize) American Film Institute


Julio Ramos - Una Carrerita, Doctor! UCLA


Lorne Hiltser - Le Jeu Des Soldats American Film Institute


Andrew Spieler - The Response (Tied) American Film Institute
Christina Rubenstein – Unrest  (Tied) American Film Institute


Rob Connelly – Our Neck of the Woods USC


Melanie McGraw – Pit Stop USC


Vineet Dewan – Clear, Cut Simple – (Tied) USC
Danielle Shamash – The Sunday Man  – (Tied) American Film Institute


Adam Parrish King – The Wrath of Cobble Hill USC


Suny Behar – Chaos Theory UCLA


Sharat Raju - American Made American FIlm Institute

File Attachments: