You are here

Julian Sands

4 January 1958 to 13 January 2023

A British actor, who made his name in two BAFTA-winning films, released a year apart, namely The Killing Fields (1984) and A Room With a View (1985). Julian Sands would go on to earn more than 150 screen credits, including eight collaborations with director Mike Figgis: The Browning Version (1994), Leaving Las Vegas (1995), One Night Stand (1997), The Loss of Sexual Innocence (1998), Timecode (2000), Hotel (2001), Suspension of Disbelief (2012) and the forthcoming Mother Tongue. Other notable film roles included Gothic (1986), Warlock (1989), Arachnophobia (1990), Impromptu, Naked Lunch (both 1991), Boxing Helena (1993), Vatel (2000), Ocean’s Thirteen (2007), The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (2011), The Painted Bird (2019), Benediction and The Survivalist (both 2021). Television credits included A Married Man (1983), Oxford Blues (1984), The Doctor and the Devils (1985), 24 (2006), Smallville (2009) and Kenneth Tynan: In Praise of Hardcore (2005).

Read Julian Sands' Guardian obituary

Read Julian Sands' BFI obituary

Read Julian Sands' Telegraph obituary

Read Julian Sands' BBC obituary