You are here

The Breathrough Talent Award

26 April 2011
Katie Piper & Jon BrownBAFTA/Chris Sharp

Presented at the Television Craft Awards, the Academy’s Breakthrough Talent Award recognises the outstanding new talent of individuals working behind the camera.

Our Breakthrough Talent Award pays tribute to an individual whose emerging talents have come to fruition in the last year. Not a true 'beginner's award', it is designed to recognise talent displayed in any part of the behind-the-camera production process - from development through to delivery and across all genres.

Presented annually at the British Academy Television Craft Awards entries might comprise one piece of work or a number of programmes, each of which must have been transmitted during the previous year.

Previous Winners

Break-through TalentBAFTA / Richard Kendal 2012

The Breakthrough Talent Award in 2012 was won by Kwadjo Dajan.

Breakthrough Talent winner: Jon Brown (article Crop)BAFTA/Chris Sharp 2011

The Breakthrough Talent Award in 2011 was won by Jon Brown, writer of Mongrels.

Jessie VersluysBAFTA/Richard Kendal 2010

The Breakthrough Talent Award in 2010 was won by Jessie Versluys, director of The Hospital/Katie My Beautiful Face.

Break-through Talent BAFTA / Richard Kendal 2009

The Breakthrough Talent Award in 2009 was won by Daniel Vernon for his work as director and producer on The Man Who Eats Badgers (Wonderland), a BBC documentary series dealing with everyday dramas.

TVCRAFT08: Director Factual 3BAFTA / Richard Kendal 2008

The Breakthrough Talent Award in 2008 was presented to director Jezza Neumann for his work on China’s Stolen Children - A Dispatches Special (Channel 4/True Vision).

Craft 07: Break-Through TalentBAFTA / Richard Kendal 2007

The Breakthrough Talent Award in 2007 was won by writer Sharon Foster for her work on the BBC Two drama, Shoot the Messenger.

In 2012 the Breakthrough Talent Award was generously sponsored by Sara Putt Associates. Sara Putt Associates [logo]