You are here

British Academy Cymru Awards Winners in 2011

29 May 2011

Watch Awards coverage and see the official list of winners and nominees for the British Academy Cymru Awards in 2011.

The British Academy Cymru Awards in 2012 took place on Sunday 29 May at the Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff.

Watch The Ceremony:

The Winners in 2011:

BAFTA mask Denotes winner

Cymru Awards Logo


Television Drama

Sponsored By Ethos Creative

BAFTA maskSue Vertue - Sherlock: A Study in Pink
Gethin Scourfield, Ed Thomas - Pen Talar
Tom Ware, Deep Sehgal - The Indian Doctor

Back to top

ELP logo

News, Current Affairs & Sport Programme

Sponsored By ELP

BAFTA maskNick Skinner - Week in Week out: University Challenged
Rachel Morgan, Howard Bradburn, Luned Tonderai - Panorama: Chocolate - The Bitter Truth
Illtyd Ab Alwyn - Taro Naw: Ken Jones

Back to top


Factual Series

Sponsored By Picture Booth

BAFTA maskRhys Waters, Nathan Macintosh - Rhod Gilbert's Work Experience: Binmen
Ceri Rowlands, Paul Islwyn Thomas - Snowdonia 1890
Dylan Huws, Arwyn Evans - Y Fenai

Back to top

Single Documentary

BAFTA maskNick Holt - Between Life And Death
Caryl Ebenezer - O'r Galon: Y Tren I Ravensbruck
Mark Radice - The First World War From Above

Back to top


Music & Entertainment Programme

Sponsored By NEP Cymru

BAFTA maskSteve Freer, Paul Bullock - BBC Young Musician 2010: The Final
Paul Bullock - Doctor Who at the Proms
Gareth Williams, Hefin Owen - Llangollen 2010: Uchafbwyntiau Dydd Mercher

Back to top

Children’s Programme

BAFTA maskBrian Minchin - The Sarah Jane Adventures: Death of The Doctor
Stephanie Harvie Campbell, Inge Hanson, Rachel Evans - My Life: My Dad in Prison
Nia Ceidiog - Y Diwrnod Mawr: Sion Pyrs

Back to top

Short Form

BAFTA maskCatherine Linstrum - Nadger
Luke Andrews - Edna's Bench
Stephen Hanks - Panda Car

Back to top


New Media

Sponsored By Orchard

BAFTA maskHenry Hoffman (Angry Mango)- Mush Computer Game
Ethos Creative - Anna's Wild Welsh Zoo Website
BBC Interactive & Learning, Sequence, Indus Films - Snowdonia 1890 Website

Back to top


BAFTA maskDinamo - Byw yn ol y Llyfr
Elfen - Pethe / Pethe Hwyrach / Dweud Pethe
Roughcollie (for Telesgop) - 'Sgota’ gyda/with Julian Lewis Jones

Back to top

Costume Design

BAFTA maskJakki Winfield - Caerdydd V
Jakki Winfield - Pen Talar
Sarah-Jane Perez - Whites

Back to top

Editing: Fiction

BAFTA maskJohn Gillanders - The Indian Doctor
William Oswald - Doctor Who: The Time of The Angels
Kevin Jones - Pen Talar

Back to top

Mwnci logo

Editing: Factual

Sponsored By Mwnci

BAFTA maskJohn Gillanders - O'r Galon: Y Tren i Ravensbruck
Geraint Huw Reynolds - O'r Gwanas i Gbara
Llyr Madoc - Y Fenai

Back to top

Director: Fiction

BAFTA maskEuros Lyn - Sherlock: The Blind Baker
Gareth Bryn - Pen Talar
Ed Thomas - Pen Talar

Back to top

Director: Factual

BAFTA maskMei Williams - O'r Gwanas i Gbara
Caryl Ebenezer - Byd Pawb: Nol i Fethlehem
Caryl Ebenezer - O'r Galon: Y Tren i Ravensbruck

Back to top

Director of Photography: Fiction

BAFTA maskSteve Lawes - Sherlock: A Study In Pink
Rory Taylor - Pen Talar
Ray Orton - The Indian Doctor

Back to top


BAFTA maskMike Harrison - O'r Galon: Y Tren i Ravensbruck
Rhys Edwards, Joe Davies - Ras yn Erbyn Amser
Richard Longstaff - Y Fenai

Back to top

Perfect Functions logo

Production Design

Sponsored By Perfect Functions

BAFTA maskArwel Wyn Jones - Sherlock: A Study In Pink
Eryl Ellis - Pen Talar
Venita Gribble - The Indian Doctor

Back to top

Sassoon Logo

Make Up & Hair

Sponsored By Sassoon

BAFTA maskClaire Pritchard-Jones - Sherlock: The Great Game
Barbara Southcott - Doctor Who: Vampires of Venice
Nel Bat - Pen Talar

Back to top

Silent Arena

Original Music

Sponsored By Silent Arena

BAFTA maskDafydd Ieuan, Cian Ciaran - Pen Talar
John Rea - Snowdonia 1890
John Rea - BBC Young Musician 2010: The Final

Back to top

Abacoustics logo


Sponsored By AB Acoustics

BAFTA maskTim Ricketts - Doctor Who: A Christmas Carol

Toby Alington - Cyngerdd Mawr Talent Cymru

Bang Post Production Team - Sherlock: The Great Game

Back to top



Sponsored By NEP Cymru

BAFTA maskMark Hutchinson - Doctor Who: The Eleventh Hour
Bernie Davis - BBC Young Musician 2010: The Final
Nigel Catmur - Only Men Aloud

Back to top

Push4 logo

Live Event Coverage

Sponsored By Push 4 Audio Visual

BAFTA maskEmyr Afan - Welcome To Wales: Ryder Cup Opening Concert
Richard Rees, Branwen Davies - Royal Welsh Show 2010
Rhys Edwards - Scrum V Live / Wales vs. Sa

Back to top


BAFTA maskRoger Williams - Caerdydd V
Sion Eirian, Ed Thomas - Pen Talar
Vaughan Sivell - Third Star

Back to top

Cineworld Logo


Sponsored By Cineworld Cinemas

BAFTA maskStuart Brennan - Risen: The Howard Winstone Story
Ryland Teifi - Caerdydd V
Richard Harrington - Pen Talar

Back to top

PRG logo


Sponsored By PRG

BAFTA maskMali Harries - The Indian Doctor
Ffion Williams - Caerdydd V
Mali Harries - Pen Talar

Back to top

Bacardi Logo


Sponsored By Bacardi

BAFTA maskAngharad Mair - Wedi 7: Teyrnged Hywel Teifi
Eddie Butler - Wales and the History of The World: Welsh Firsts
Bethan Gwanas - Gwanas i Gbara

Back to top

National Screen and Sound Archive of Wales logo

Gwobr Gwyn Alf Williams Award

Sponsored By The National Screen and Sound Archive of Wales

For a programme or series of programmes which have contributed most to the understanding and appreciation of the history of Wales.

BAFTA maskSnowdonia 1890 - Ceri Rowlands / Paul Islwyn Thomas

Back to top

Cardiff Council logo

BAFTA Cymru Lifetime Achievement Award

Supported By Cardiff Council

For outstanding contribution to film, television or new media.

BAFTA maskGareth Gwenlan

Back to top

Creative Industries/Welsh Assembly Government

Tlws Siân Phillips Award

In Association with Creative Industries/Diwydiannau Creadigol / Welsh Assembly Government/Llywodraeth Cynulliad Cymru

Presented to a Welshman or woman who has made a significant contribution in either a major feature film or network television programme.

BAFTA maskMatthew Rhys

Back to top