You are here

Press Releases

Attendees announced for this Sunday's BAFTA Children & Young People Awards

23 November 2022

Justin Fletcher, George Webster, Braydon Bent, Cathy Tyson, Bobby Beynon, Taiya Samuel and Grant Orchard are among the nominees confirmed to attend the BAFTA Children & Young People Awards this Sunday.

A host of guest presenters will join them, including Molly Rainford, Dani Harmer, Amir Wilson, Kemi Majeks, Jason Isaacs, MC Grammar, Joseph Coelho, Ben Shires, Alishea Campbell-Drummond,  The Ayodi Family, Nigel Clarke, Inel Tomlinson, and the winners of BAFTA's 2022 Young Presenters Competition.

Event: British Academy Scotland Awards at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow CentralDate: Sunday 3 November 2019Venue: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow CentralHost: Edith Bowman-Area: Reportage

Attendees announced for this Sunday's BAFTA Scotland Awards

17 November 2022

Nominees including Biffy Clyro, Brian Cox, Caitríona Balfe, Dougray Scott, Izuka Hoyle, Jack Docherty, Jack Lowden, Mark Bonnar, Marli Siu, Ncuti Gatwa, Phyllis Logan, Sam Heughan and Yong-chin Breslin are amongst the names confirmed to be attending the BAFTA Scotland Awards this Sunday. 

They will be joined by this years' Outstanding Contribution recipient Peter Capaldi, as well as a host of guest presenters including Armando Iannucci, Jamie-Lee O'Donnell, Kate Dickie and Sharon Rooney. 

Film Industry Talent Join BAFTA EE Rising Star Award Jury Panel to Decide the 2023 Nominees

8 November 2022
  • Stars from both sides of the silver screen attend jury meeting at BAFTA headquarters to select the EE Rising Star Award shortlist ahead of the 2023 EE BAFTA Film Awards
  • Hayley Atwell (Captain America: The First Avenger) and BAFTA-nominated actor Joe Cole (Gangs of London and Peaky Blinders) joined actor and producer Jason Flemyng (Boiling Point and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button) on jury panel
  • Chair of BAFTA Film Committee, Anna Higgs, chaired the esteemed jury panel that included casting directors Lucy Bevan (The Batman) and Leo Davis (The Queen)
  • In its 18th year, the EE Rising Star Award boasts previous winners including Lashana Lynch, Bukky Bakray, Micheal Ward, Letitia Wright, Daniel Kaluuya, John Boyega, and Tom Hardy
  • The shortlist will be announced in January when voting will open to the British public at

Peter Capaldi announced as recipient of BAFTA Scotland Outstanding Contribution Award 2022

3 November 2022
  • Peter Capaldi has today been announced as the recipient of the BAFTA Scotland Award for Outstanding Contribution to Film & Television. 
  • The Glasgow-born, multi-talented actor has won five BAFTA Awards to date; including a BAFTA Film Award for Best Short Film, BAFTA TV Award for Best Male Comedy Performance and multiple BAFTA Scotland Awards as both an actor and writer/director. 
  • His iconic roles include Malcolm Tucker in 'The Thick of It' and 'In The Loop' and the 12th Doctor in Doctor Who.