You are here

Winners Announced: British Academy Television Craft Awards in 2020

17 July 2020

Chernobyl wins seven BAFTAs

Two BAFTAs for His Dark Materials

Nicky Sargent & Vikki Dunn honoured with BAFTA Special Award

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts has announced the winners of tonight’s British Academy Television Craft Awards, celebrating the very best behind-the-scenes television talent of 2019. The ceremony, which was broadcast online, was hosted by Stephen Mangan, with guest presenters Romesh Ranganathan, Rachel Parris, Jessica Knappett and Richard Ayoade, the host of the upcoming Virgin Media British Academy Television Awards on 31 July.

Chernobyl, the drama mini-series based on the nuclear disaster in 1986, was successful in seven categories: Costume Design, Director: Fiction, Editing: Fiction, Original Music, Photography & Lighting: Fiction, Production Design and Sound: Fiction.

His Dark Materials, the drama based on the series of novels by Philip Pullman, received two awards: Special, Visual & Graphic Effects and Titles & Graphic Identity.

BAFTA continues to shine a spotlight on the very best emerging talent in the industry with the Breakthrough Talent category, won this year by Aisling Bea for her writing debut This Way up.

The award for Entertainment Craft Team was presented to David Bishop, Vicky Gill, Andy Taypley and Patrick Doherty for Strictly Come Dancing.

The new Scripted Casting award was presented to Des Hamilton for Top Boy, the crime drama series.

First-time winners included: Janet Fraser Crook, Director: Multi-Camera for Glastonbury 2019; Michael Harte, Editing: Factual for Don’t F--k With Cats: Hunting an Internet Killer; Arthur Cary, Director: Factual for The Last Survivors; Loz Schiavo, Make Up & Hair Design for Peaky Blinders; and Jamie Demetriou, Writer: Comedy for Stath Lets Flats.

Jesse Armstrong, creator of the satirical American comedy-drama series Succession, won the award for Writer: Drama.

The award for Sound: Factual was won by the Sound Team for Battle of the Brass Bands. The award for Photography Factual was awarded to Seven Worlds, One Planet.

Nicky Sargent and Vikki Dunn, joint founding directors of The Farm Group, were honoured with the BAFTA Special Award, one of BAFTA’s highest honours. The pair received the award in recognition of their exceptional careers and dedication to the field of post-production.

The Awards are supported by Mad Dog 2020 Casting, the Official TV Craft Partner, and by Category Sponsors 3 Mills Studios, Hotcam, Jackshoot, MAC Cosmetics, Microsoft, Sara Putt Associates, Screenskills High-end Television Skills Fund, Shure, Spotlight and The Farm.


Supporting documents and media

Watch the full ceremony and ceremony highlights on BAFTA YouTube:

Visit for all supporting documents including the list of today's winners, information on photography and video clips, logos, accreditation and more.

For further information, please contact:

Amanda Hearn, Publicity Director - Television at Multitude Media:

M: 07950 803 771

E: [email protected]

Will Wood, Managing Director, Multitude Media:

M: 07817 014 515

E: [email protected]

Nora Dunne, Publicist, Multitude Media:

M:07380 854 382

E: [email protected]

The Virgin Media British Academy Television Awards will take place on Friday 31 July broadcast on BBC One from 19.00 BST.  


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For advice and inspiration from the best creative minds in working in film, games and television, visit For more, visit