You are here

Winners Announced for the British Academy Television Craft Awards in 2018

22 April 2018
Craft18 placeholder press bannerBAFTA/AKQA

The winners of the British Academy Television Craft Awards in 2018

Browse the categories (additional imagery & information)
View the list (plain text)

  • Three Girls Wins Three Awards
  • Blue Planet II, Chris Packham: Asperger's And Me, Game Of Thrones, The Crown and World War One Remembered: Passchendaele Win Two Awards Each
  • Daisy May Cooper and Charlie Cooper Win Breakthrough Talent
  • Game Of Thrones Honoured With Special Award

London, 22 April 2018: The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) has announced the winners of this year’s British Academy Television Craft Awards, celebrating the very best behind-the-scenes talent working in television. The ceremony was hosted by Stephen Mangan at The Brewery, London, where presenters included Edward Enniful OBE, Kiran Sonia Sawar, Mark Bonnar, Riz Lateef, Shaun Dooley, Sinead Keenan and Susie Dent.

A broad range of programmes broadcast in 2017 were honoured at the event. Three Girls, the drama based on true-life events in Rochdale, won three awards: Philippa Lowthorpe was awarded in the Director: Fiction category, the second BAFTA of her career. Úna Ní Dhonghaíle received the BAFTA for Editing: Fiction and Nicole Taylor was recognised in the Writer: Drama category.

Five programmes won two BAFTAs each: Blue Planet II, Chris Packham: Asperger’s and Me, Game of Thrones, The Crown and World War One Remembered: Passchendaele.

Two episodes of Blue Planet II were recognised. Graham Wild, Tim Owens and Kate Hopkins, the sound team behind the episode ‘Coral Reefs’, received the award for Sound: Factual; and the camera team for ‘One Ocean’ took home the BAFTA for Photography: Factual.

The BBC documentary Chris Packham: Asperger’s and Me received awards for Charlie Russell for Director: Factual and Will Grayburn for Editing: Factual.

HBO fantasy drama Game of Thrones received its first BAFTAs: in the Costume Design category for Michele Clapton and in the Production Design category for Deborah Riley and Rob Cameron.

Historical drama The Crown was recognised in the Sound: Fiction category and director of photography Adriano Goldman received the award for Photography and Lighting: Fiction.

The teams behind World War One Remembered: Passchendaele, the commemorations marking the centenary of the Battle of Passchendaele, were awarded the BAFTA for Entertainment Craft Team and director Julia Knowles received the award for Director: Multi-Camera.

The award for Breakthrough Talent shines a light on the very best emerging behind-the-scenes talent and was awarded to writers (and BAFTA Breakthrough Brits) Daisy May Cooper and Charlie Cooper for their comedy series This Country.

The BAFTA for Writer: Comedy was awarded to longtime writing partners Steve Pemberton and Reece Shearsmith for Inside No. 9, the second BAFTA of their careers.

Television dramas dominated the remaining categories. Jocelyn Pook took home the BAFTA for Original Music for King Charles III. William Bartlett received the award for Titles & Graphic Identity for SS-GB. Jan Archibald, Erika Okvist and Audrey Doyle were recognised in the Make-Up & Hair Design category for their work on Taboo. Dneg TV, Jean-Clement Soret, Russell Mclean and Joel Collins received the BAFTA for Special, Visual & Graphic Effects for the Black Mirror episode ‘Metalhead’.

In addition to its two competitive award wins, Game of Thrones was presented with the BAFTA Special Award, recognising the talented practitioners involved in the making of the series and their outstanding contribution to revolutionising and pushing boundaries within the various crafts involved. 67 episodes have been made to date, filmed across various locations in Northern Ireland, UK, from a production base at Titanic Studios in Belfast. The Special Award was presented by Jane Lush, Chair of the Academy, and was accepted on behalf of the production by the actors John Bradley and Hannah Murray.

The British Academy Television Craft Awards were streamed live for the first time on BAFTA’s Twitter and YouTube channels.

For further information:
Amanda Hearn / Hep Kwakye-Saka
T: 0203 003 6456 / 6482
E: [email protected] / [email protected]

The British Academy Television Craft Awards are supported by our Official Craft Partner Harman, and category sponsors 3 Mills Studios, Autodesk, CARAT London, Hotcam, MAC Cosmetics & Make-Up Artist Magazine, Microsoft, Sara Putt Associates and The Farm.

The day before the Awards, BAFTA celebrated its television craft nominees with a day of dedicated panels, Q&As and filmed interviews. The content is now available at BAFTA Guru, our hub of inspirational creative insight and advice.  BAFTA’s activity to support creative talent includes BAFTA Breakthrough Brits, the BAFTA Scholarships Programme and BAFTA Crew, all of which are currently open for applications, as well as BAFTA Elevate and a year-round programme of masterclasses.  BAFTA’s Guru Live festival of inspirational masterclasses, panels and Q&As with BAFTA nominees in film, games and television will take place in Glasgow and Cardiff on 28 April and in London on 15 and 16 September.


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For advice and inspiration from the best creative minds in working in film, games and television, visit For more, visit