You are here

Key Dates & Updated Rules & Guidelines Published for the EE British Academy Film Awards in 2019

26 July 2018

We've announced the full list of key dates and published the Rules and Guidelines for the EE British Academy Film Awards, which take place on Sunday 10 February 2019.

A summary of key dates is below:

Monday 1 October Entry deadline for short film entries
Tuesday 23 October

Entry deadline for Stage One submission of feature film entries (confirming film eligibility, which categories each film will be entered into and entries for the performance categories)

Entries for the British film categories should be submitted to the BFI for consideration against their Diversity Standards by this date at the latest

Thursday 22 November

Entry deadline for Stage Two submission of feature film entries (confirming candidates for nomination in all other categories)

Friday 30 November

Details of all entered films and performances sent to Film Voting Members and entrants

Friday 7 December Deadline for comments and queries about entry listings 
Wednesday 12 December

Films opening for UK general release after 1 January 2019 must be screened to members before this date

Friday 14 December Round One voting opens
Wednesday 2 January  18:00 Round One voting closes
Thursday 3 January EE Rising Star Award nominees announced 
Wednesday 9 January

Nominations Announcement

Round Two voting opens 
Wednesday 6 February 18:00 Round Two voting closes
Friday 8 February

All entered films to have screened to the public by this date

Saturday 9 February BAFTA Nespresso Nominees’ Party
Sunday 10 February EE British Academy Film Awards

The updated Rules & Guidelines include the new eligibility requirement that all entries into two British film categories – Outstanding British Film and Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer – will now be required to meet at least two of the four BFI Diversity Standards, as BAFTA continues to take a leading role in increasing diversity in front of and behind the camera.

The EE British Academy Film Awards are BAFTA’s highest film honours, rewarding the best work of any nationality seen on British cinema screens. Award winners at the 2018 ceremony included Gary Oldman for Leading Actor, Frances McDormand for Leading Actress, Sam Rockwell for Supporting Actor and Allison Janney for Supporting Actress; the Fellowship, the highest honour bestowed by the Academy, was awarded to Sir Ridley Scott.

The full list of dates and the new Rules & Guidelines can be found at

For further information, please contact:

Vicky Grayson
T: 020 3003 6327 
E: [email protected]


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For advice and inspiration from the best creative minds in working in film, games and television, visit For more, visit