You are here

EE British Academy Film Awards: Winners Announced

13 March 2022

The winners for the 2022 EE BAFTAs have been announced.

  • The Power of the Dog wins Best Film
  • Jane Campion wins Director for The Power of the Dog
  • Belfast wins Outstanding British Film
  • CODA wins Supporting Actor for Troy Kotsur and Adapted Screenplay for Siân Heder
  • West Side Story wins Supporting Actress for Ariana DeBose and Casting
  • Will Smith wins Leading Actor for King Richard
  • Joanna Scanlan wins Leading Actress for After Love
  • Dune wins Original Score, Cinematography, Production Design, Sound and
  • Special Visual Effects
  • Licorice Pizza wins Original Screenplay for Paul Thomas Anderson
  • Lashana Lynch wins the EE Rising Star Award

View the full list of winners

The 2022 EE British Academy Film Awards celebrated the very best in film of the past year.

Nominees and guests attended an in-person ceremony at the Royal Albert Hall hosted by Rebel Wilson.

The Power of the Dog won two BAFTAs: Best Film, and Director for Jane Campion.

CODA won two awards: Adapted Screenplay for Siân Heder, and Supporting Actor for Troy Kotsur.

West Side Story won two awards:  Supporting Actress for Ariana DeBose and Casting.

Dune won five awards:  Original Score, Cinematography, Production Design, Sound and Special Visual Effects.

Belfast won Outstanding British Film.

The Harder They Fall won Outstanding Debut for Jeymes Samuel.

Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) won Documentary.

Drive My Car won Film Not in the English Language. 

Encanto won Animated Film.

Original Screenplay was won by Paul Thomas Anderson for Licorice Pizza.

Leading Actor was won by Will Smith for King Richard.

Leading Actress was won by Joanna Scanlan for After Love.

No Time to Die won Editing, The Eyes of Tammy Faye won Make Up & Hair, Cruella won Costume Design.

The Black Cop won the British Short Film award, while the BAFTA for British Short Animation was won by Do Not Feed the Pigeons.

The EE Rising Star Award, voted for by the public, went to Lashana Lynch.

The show featured two musical performances: Dame Shirley Bassey performed ‘Diamonds are Forever’ to celebrate 60 years of Bond, and Emilia Jones performed Joni Mitchell’s ‘Both Sides Now’ from the film CODA.

82 of this year’s nominees across 14 categories, including Lady Gaga, Alana Haim, Benedict Cumberbatch, Jeymes Samuel, Rebecca Hall, Aleem Khan, Jane Campion and Caitríona Balfe, took part in ‘BAFTA Film: The Sessions’ from 2-7 March, which saw the nominees discuss their craft in interviews that are now available in a BAFTA YouTube channel playlist, 

Over 30 participants from Breakthrough, BAFTA's year-long mentoring and guidance initiative, attended this year's Awards. They included Aleem Khan and Jessie Buckley, who were nominated for awards; Paapa Essiedu and Ray Panthaki, both closely involved with BAFTA-nominated films; and Bukky Bakray and Florence Pugh, who presented Awards on stage.

BAFTA is a leading arts charity that marks its 75th anniversary this year. Through its Awards, it recognises and celebrates creative excellence in film, games and television. It aims to inspire the next generation of talented people, no matter who they are or where they come from. It also discovers and supports talent with a focus on removing barriers to opportunity through a year-round learning and development programme of events and initiatives, including mentoring and financial support. Find out more at

Follow @BAFTA on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, YouTube and TikTok with #EEBAFTAs.  

Notes to Editors:

Jane Campion is the third woman to win Director.

First time BAFTA winners include all four performers Will Smith, Troy Kotsur, Joanna Scanlan and Ariana DeBose.

Troy Kotsur is BAFTA’s first deaf Film Awards winner.

Of the 47 BAFTA award recipients, 25 are first time BAFTA winners.

For further information, please contact Freuds:

Cathy Dunkley

[email protected]

Jenny Brereton

[email protected]

Photography is available at


BAFTA – the British Academy of Film and Television Arts - is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For advice and inspiration from the best creative minds in working in film, games and television, visit For more, visit BAFTA is a registered charity (no. 216726).

About EE

EE runs the UK's biggest and fastest mobile network, offering superfast connections in more places than any other operator. EE brought the first 4G network to the UK in October 2012, and launched the UK’s first 5G network in May 2019.

EE has received extensive independent recognition, including being named the UK’s no.1 5G network by RootMetrics® in 2020 and 2021, and the UK's best network every year since 2014 for the following awards: The Mobile Choice Awards, The Mobile Industry Awards and by RootMetrics®.

As well as delivering mobile services to consumers, small and medium businesses, corporate customers and Government programmes, EE also provides home and business broadband using both 4G and fixed line connections.

EE is committed to being number one for service in the industry, and has nearly 600 shops across the UK. EE remains the only mobile provider to answer 100% of customer calls in the UK and Ireland and was recognised as the UK’s Best Large Contact Centre by the UK Customer Experience Awards 2018 and Welsh Contact Centre Awards 2019. EE was awarded The Sunday Times’ Best 100 Companies to Work for in 2018.