You are here

Film Awards Categories

The Academy’s annual Film Awards have continued to evolve since their inception. This year, 25 film awards will be presented to the industry’s outstanding talent. From only three categories at the first Film Awards in 1948, BAFTA now recognises outstanding achievement in 25 Film-related categories. The Academy's Film voting membership, juries and chapters determine the nominees and winners in the majority of categories. We also give out high-profile awards, such as the Academy Fellowship, the Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema Award and the Outstanding British Film Award which are Gifts of the Film Committee and Board of Trustees.

Vanessa Redgrave - Academy FellowBAFTA/Brian Ritchie

The Academy Fellowship

This is the highest accolade the Academy presents and is bestowed for an individual's work and achievements throughout their career in the industry. Academy Fellows include Alfred Hitchcock, Sir Charles Chaplin, Sir Richard Attenborough CBE, Steven Spielberg, Julie Christie, Stanley Kubrick and Vanessa Redgrave.

See the full list of BAFTA Fellows

Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema: The Harry Potter FilmsBAFTA/Richard Kendal

Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema

Presented annually, the award for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema was introduced in 1978 and is presented in honour of Michael Balcon. The first recipients were the Special Visual Effects team for Superman and others include Kevin Brownlow, Mike Leigh, Kenneth Branagh, Derek Jarman, Lewis Gilbert, Channel Four Films, production manager Joyce Herlihy and stuntman Vic Armstrong.

Outstanding British Film - Man on WireBAFTA / Marc Hoberman

Outstanding British Film

Introduced in 1992. This award is presented in honour of Alexander Korda. Winning films include: Shadowlands, The Crying Game, The Madness Of King George, Secrets & Lies, Shallow Grave, Elizabeth, East Is East, The Last King of Scotland and The King's Speech.

Outstanding DebutBAFTA/Richard Kendal

Outstanding Debut by a British Director, Writer or Producer

The Award honors a special achievement displayed by a British talent in their First Feature Film. Established in 1992, it was originally called the Carl Foreman Award. The first recipient was Richard Kwietniowski (Love & Death On Long Island).

Find out more about the Outstanding Debut Award

Production Categories

Adapted Screenplay
Animated Film
Costume Design
Film Not in the English Language
Make Up & Hair
Original Score
Original Screenplay
Production Design
Short Animation
Short Film
Special Visual Effects

Performance Categories

Leading Actor
Supporting Actor
Leading Actress
Supporting Actress

In addition the British public are invited to vote for the most promising talent of the past year in the EE Rising Star Award.