You are here

British Academy Cymru Awards in 2013

2 August 2013
Matt Johnson and Sian Lloyd

Details of the British Academy Cymru Awards in 2013 including time table and presenter information.

The Ceremony

The 22nd annual British Academy Cymru Awards took place at Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff on Sunday 29 September 2013. Winners were announced at a star-studded ceremony hosted by television presenter Matt Johnson and news presenter Sian Lloyd.

The Presenters

2013 Cymru Awards PresentersCommenting on his role as Awards host for the evening, Matt Johnson said; "it fills me with immense pleasure and pride to be invited to co-host this year’s BAFTA Cymru awards alongside the delightful Sian Lloyd. It's going to be a lot of fun, mixed with the right amount of Welsh glamour. Diolch BAFTA". News presenter Sian Lloyd went on to say, “I’m very excited to be presenting this year’s BAFTA Cymru Awards ceremony alongside Matt. It's always a wonderful event and, having worked in the media industry both in and outside Wales for a number of years, I am very aware how much the recognition it provides means to those working in the field”.

The Nominations

The nominations were announced on Friday 02 August, covering 26 programme, craft and performance categories recognising excellence in broadcasting and production within Film and Television in Wales between 1 January 2012 and 31 March 2013.

Television drama dominates this year with Stella, produced by Tidy Productions for Sky 1, receiving ten nominations including two individual nominations for Ruth Jones for Best Writer and Best Actress. Featuring for the first time, BBC network drama The Indian Doctor, produced by Rondo Media is nominated five times. Crime drama Sherlock, also produced for the BBC by Hartswood Films, receives four nods while S4C’s Alys, produced by Apollo - is nominated three times. Russell T Davies’ new teen drama Wizards vs Aliens, produced by BBC Cymru Wales for CBBC makes its BAFTA Cymru debut, receiving three nominations for Best Children’s Programme, Costume Design and Production Design.

Special awards include the Sian Phillips award presented to Julie Gardner with the award for Outstanding Contribution to Television and Gwyn Alf Williams award being announced on the night. This year’s ceremony once again features the Breakthrough Award which recognises emerging professionals who have made a significant impact in television or film in Wales in the past year. The nominees for this award include young actor Justin Davies for his role as son Ben in Stella, Gwion Lewis for presenting Cymdeithas yr Iaith yn 50 - the story of the Welsh Language Society’s first 50 years and Meinir Gwilym, for producing the S4C documentary O’r Galon: Karen.

While the majority of this year’s nominations are associated with television drama, success within Wales’ film industry is also recognised with a Special Achievement Award for Film, the recipient of which will be announced on the night.

View the full list of winners:
British Academy Cymru Awards Winners in 2013 >