You are here

Film Awards in 2010: Winners Announced

21 February 2010
Official Winners group shot (BAFTA/Richard Kendal).BAFTA/Richard Kendal

The winners of the Orange British Academy Film AWards have been announced.

21 February 2010

The Hurt Locker wins six BAFTAs including Best Film

First time nominee Carey Mulligan wins Leading Actress, Colin Firth wins Leading Actor

Avatar, UP and The Young Victoria each win two

The Hurt Locker was named Best Film at tonight’s Orange British Academy Film Awards, held at London’s Royal Opera House. The film also won five other awards: Director for Kathryn Bigelow, the first woman to win the award, Original Screenplay, Cinematography, Editing and Sound.

Avatar won the BAFTAs for Production Design and Special Visual Effects. Up took home the awards for Animated Film and Music. The Young Victoria won the Costume Design and Make Up & Hair awards.

Carey Mulligan was awarded the BAFTA for Leading Actress for An Education. The Supporting Actress BAFTA went to Mo’Nique for her role in Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire. Colin Firth won the Leading Actor award for A Single Man and the Supporting Actor award was presented to Christoph Waltz for Inglourious Basterds. All four were first-time winners.

Up in the Air won the BAFTA for Adapted Screenplay. A Prophet took away the Film not in the English Language BAFTA.

Director Duncan Jones received the award for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Producer or Director for Moon. The BAFTA for Outstanding British Film went to Fish Tank.

Mother of Many won the Short Animation award and the Short Film award was presented to I Do Air.

The Orange Rising Star Award was presented to Kristen Stewart, star of Adventureland and Twilight. This award recognises an international actor or actress who has demonstrated exceptional talent and has begun to be recognised as a film star in the making. This award, now in its fifth year, was created in honour of the late Mary Selway, the highly respected casting director who sadly passed away in 2004.

New Academy President HRH Prince William and Uma Thurman presented the Academy Fellowship to Vanessa Redgrave. Terry Gilliam, last year’s Fellow, presented the award for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema to Joe Dunton.

Winners Announcement: Orange British Academy Film Awards 2009 (166 KB)
Winners List: Orange British Academy Film Awards 2009 (190 KB)

For further information, please contact:
Jo Fernihough at Freud Communications
T: 020 3003 6386 / [email protected]