You are here

New British Comedy Talent Chosen For International Showcases

19 August 2014
BAFTA/ Stephen Butler

BAFTA reveals the writers selected to take part in the Guardian Edinburgh International Television Festival or the New York Television Festival.

The search for Britain's top comedic talent is over, as BAFTA and Rocliffe have announced the winners of a nationwide competition to find the UK’s most promising comedy writers without a television commission. 

Karen Reed and writing pair Tommy Rowson & Nick Beasley will see extracts of their scripts performed at this year's Guardian Edinburgh International Television Festival (GEITF) on 21 August, attended by high profile names in the industry. In addition, they will receive feedback from an expert panel, including Myfanwy Moore, UK Controller of Comedy Production at the BBC; UK actress, writer and comedienne Sharon Horgan (Pulling, Little Crackers); and US comedian and internet sensation Rob Delaney.

John Sheerman and writing pairs Nicole Paglia & Daniel Brierley, and Neil Warhurst & Izzy Mant, are jetting across the pond to the New York Television Festival (NYTVF), where their work will be performed by professional actors.

   "This platform open doors in ways that knocking alone as a new talent can’t because from start to finish every aspect of the initiative has industry support.”

- Farah Abushwesha, Founder of Rocliffe

In addition to having their scripts showcased to influential members of the industry, the winning writers also receive feedback from guests, mentoring sessions to help them hone their craft, and meetings with top UK talent agents, as well as pitch training and networking opportunities.

The jury that selected this year's winners included: writer/producer Anil Gupta (Citizen Khan, The Office); writer David Quantick (The Thick of It, Veep); producer Caroline Norris (Horrible Histories, Raised by Wolves); writer/actor Tom Basden (Fresh Meat, The Wrong Mans); Commissioning Editor for Channel 4 Comedy, Fiona McDermott; and representatives from all the major UK broadcasters.

Click here for more information about the British comedy writing initiative.