You are here

And the Winners are... Round-Up of the British Academy Television Craft Awards in 2015

26 April 2015

Our annual celebration of the very best in the television industry saw Penny Dreadful take home the most awards, winning three BAFTAs for Original Music, Production Design and Make Up and Hair Design.

The winners of the British Academy Television Craft Awards were announced at a glittering ceremony hosted by Stephen Mangan at The Brewery in London, on Sunday 26 April 2015. Award presenters included the likes of Nick Helm, Fisayo Akinade, Tina Hobley, Iwan Rheon, Adam Nagaitis, Amy Beth Hayes, Edith Bowman and Talulah Riley.

Actor Helen George kicked off proceedings by presenting the first award of the evening for Costume Design, awarded to Phoebe De Gaye for The Musketeers. The second award of the night was for Editing Factual, presented to Jake Martin for Grayson Perry: Who Are You?.

The British-American horror series Penny Dreadful was the biggest winner of the evening, scooping three awards for Original Music, Production Design and Make Up and Hair Design. Other winners on the night included BBC dramas Sherlock, which received two awards and Doctor Who and Marvellous, each picking up one award. Head over to the BAFTA Awards Database to see the full list of winners.

Event: British Academy Television Craft AwardsDate: Sunday 26 April 2015Venue: The BreweryHost: Stephen Mangan-Area: CEREMONYBAFTA/Stephen Butler

BAFTA continued to support exciting new talent in the British television industry with the Breakthrough Talent award, presented to Breakthrough Brit Marc Williamson for The Last Chance School. "It's a wonderful surprise to be up here and it was a real honour just to be nominated. This means a lot to me and I've been really impressed with the whole industry and the contuining support for new talent."

This year's British Academy Television Craft Awards introduced a new category to recognise the achievement in television graphics. The Titles and Graphic Identity award was presented to Mark Roalfe, Tomek Baginski and Ron Chakraborty for their collaboration on the Winter Olympics 2014.

BAFTA also celebrated the best new writing of the last twelve months. Mackenzie Crook collected the award for Writer - Comedy for BBC Four's Detectorists and the writer of BBC's Happy Valley Sally Wainwright picked up the prize for Writer - Drama.


In the final awards of the evening BAFTA celebrated innovative, challenging and thought-provoking work with the Director - Factual category, presented to Dan Reed for Channel 4 documentary The Paedophile Hunter. Julian Farino walked home with the penultimate award Director - Fiction for Marvellous.

And last but by no means least, the BAFTA Special Award was presented to Hilary Briegel for her outstanding and exceptional creative contribution to the television industry. Briegel was recognised for her extensive work across a diverse range of productions, including Absolutely Fabulous, Only Fools and Horses, Newsnight, the Wimbledon Championships and the Olympic Games.

On receiving the highest accolade of the night, the vision mixing extraordinaire thanked "all the wonderful production teams and the extraordinary craft crews, presenters and artists for their help and support over the years. I am humbled to think that my work had been acknowledged. Thank you to BAFTA for recognising the achievements of vision mixers."