You are here

Television Awards Winners in 2009

28 December 2011
David Mitchell, winner of the Comedy Performance Award for his role in Peep Show, celebrates backstage at the British Academy Television Awards in 2009 (BAFTA / Richard Kendal).BAFTA / Richard Kendal

The full list of winners and features from the British Academy Television Awards in 2009, held on Sunday 26 April.

2009 winners

_Click on the category headings to watch ceremony highlight videos
  • _
Logo: TV Awards landscape


BAFTA maskStephen Dillane
The Shooting of Thomas Hurndall
Jason Isaacs
The Curse of Steptoe
BBC Four
Ken Stott
Hancock and Joan
BBC Four
Ben Whishaw
Criminal Justice


BAFTA maskAnna Maxwell Martin
Poppy Shakespeare
June Brown
Maxine Peake
Hancock and Joan
BBC Four
Andrea Riseborough
Margaret Thatcher: The Long Walk to Finchley
BBC Four

[WEBCASTPOPUP:|TEXT:Entertainment Performance|WIDTH:470|HEIGHT:300]

BAFTA maskHarry Hill
Harry Hill’s TV Burp
Stephen Fry
Anthony McPartlin & Declan Donnelly
I’m A Celebrity... Get Me Out Of Here!
Jonathan Ross
Friday Night with Jonathan Ross

[WEBCASTPOPUP:|TEXT:Comedy Performance|WIDTH:470|HEIGHT:300]

BAFTA maskDavid Mitchell
Peep Show
Rob Brydon
Gavin & Stacey
BBC Three
Sharon Horgan
BBC Three
Claire Skinner


BAFTA maskWhite Girl
Hettie Macdonald, Abi Morgan, Andrew Woodhead, Greg Brenman
BBC Two/Tiger Aspect Productions
Einstein and Eddington
George Faber, Mark Pybus, Peter Moffatt, Philip Martin
BBC Two/Company Pictures
Hancock and Joan
Richard Cottan, Richard Laxton, Simon Heath
BBC Four/World Productions
The Shooting of Thomas Hurndall
Simon Block, Rowan Joffe, Barney Reisz, Charles Furneaux


BAFTA maskWallander
Richard Cottan, Kenneth Branagh, Philip Martin, Francis Hopkinson
BBC One/Left Bank Pictures
Doctor Who
Phil Collinson, Russell T Davies, Julie Gardner, Susie Liggat
BBC One/BBC Productions
Paul Abbott, George Faber, John Griffin, Johann Knobel
C4/Company Pictures
Production Team
BBC One/Kudos Film and Television


BAFTA maskCriminal Justice
Pier Wilkie, Otto Bathurst, Peter Moffat
BBC One/BBC Productions
Dead Set
Charlie Brooker, Annabel Jones, Yan Demange
E4/A Zeppotron Production
The Devil’s Whore
Peter Flannery, Martine Brant, Marc Munden, Jake Lushington
C4/Company Pictures & Power
House of Saddam
Steven Lightfoot, Alex Holmes, Stephen Butchard
BBC Two/BBC Productions & HBO

[WEBCASTPOPUP:|TEXT:Continuing Drama|WIDTH:470|HEIGHT:300]

BAFTA maskThe Bill
Production Team
Production Team
BBC One/BBC Productions
Production Team
BBC One/BBC Productions
Production Team
ITV1/ITV Studios


BAFTA maskMad Men
Matthew Weiner, Scott Hornbacher
BBC Four/Lionsgate
The Daily Show with Jon Stewart
Chuck O’Neil, Rich Blomquist, Scott Jacobson, Jon Stewart
More4/MTV Networks
John Goldwyn, Sara Colleton, Clyde Philips, Robert Lloyd Lewis
FX/ITV1/John Goldwyn Productions
The Wire
David Simon, Ed Burns, Nina K. Noble, Joe Chappelle
FX/Blown Deadline Productions/HBO


BAFTA maskAmazon with Bruce Parry
Production Team
BBC Two/Indus Films & Endeavour Productions
Blood Sweat and T-Shirts
Mark Rubens, Tim Quicke, Jo Bishop
BBC Three/Ricochet
The Family
Production Team
C4/Dragonfly Film and Television Productions
Ross Kemp in Afghanistan
Clive Tulloh, John Conroy, Matt Bennett, Ross Kemp
SKY1/Tiger Aspect Productions

[WEBCASTPOPUP:|TEXT:Specialist Factual

  • |WIDTH:470|HEIGHT:300]

BAFTA maskLife in Cold Blood
Production Team
BBC One/BBC Productions
Blood and Guts: A History of Surgery
Claudia Lewis, Kim Shillinglaw
BBC Four/BBC Productions
Lost Land of the Jaguar
Production Team
BBC One/BBC Productions
Stephen Fry & the Gutenberg Press: The Machine That Made Us
Stephen Fry, Patrick McGrady, Lucy Ward, Philip Crocker
BBC Four/Wavelength Films

[WEBCASTPOPUP:|TEXT:Single Documentary

  • *|WIDTH:470|HEIGHT:300]

BAFTA maskChosen (True Stories)
Brian Woods, Caroline Haydon, Chris Eley, Jimmy Edmonds
More4/True Vision
A Boy Called Alex
Stephen Walker, Sally George, Tracy Garrett
C4/Walker George Films
The Fallen
Morgan Matthews, Elodie Gornall, Joby Gee, David Brindley
BBC Two/Minnow Films
Thriller in Manila
John Dower, John Smithson, Elinor Day, Andrew MacKenzie
More4/Darlow Smithson Productions

  • **


BAFTA maskThe Choir: Boys Don’t Sing
Production Team
BBC Two/Twenty Twenty Television
The Apprentice
Michele Kurland, Kelly Webb-Lamb, Andy Devonshire
BBC One/TalkbackTHAMES
Celebrity MasterChef
Karen Ross, Mark Leslie, Bec Smith, Theo Goble
BBC One/Shine Limited
Top Gear
Andy Wilman, Jeremy Clarkson, Richard Hammond, James May
BBC Two/BBC Productions


BAFTA maskSaving Africa’s Witch Children (Dispatches)
Mags Gavan, Joost van der Valk, Alice Keens-Soper, Paul Woolwich
C4/A Red Rebel Films and Oxford Scientific Films co-production
Mum Loves Drugs, Not Me (Dispatches)
Kate Blewett, Deborah Shipley, Brian Woods, Sean Lewis
C4/True Vision Productions
Omagh: What The Police Were Never Told (Panorama)
Sandy Smith, Brendon McCourt, John Ware, Leo Telling
BBC One/BBC Productions
Ross Kemp: A Kenya Special
Clive Tulloh, Ewen Thomson, Matt Bennett, Ross Kemp
SKY 1/Tiger Aspect Productions


BAFTA maskNews At Ten – Chinese Earthquake
Bill Neely, John Ray, Rob Bowles, Lu Bo
Channel 4 News
Jim Gray, Jonathan Miller, Ben de Pear, Soren Munk
Sky News – Canoe Man
Gerard Tubb
Sky News/Sky News
Sky News – Mumbai
Production Team
Sky News/Sky News


BAFTA maskITV1 F1: Brazilian Grand Prix 2008
Neil Duncanson, Gerard Lane, Steve Aldous, Steve Rider
ITV1/North One Television
Cheltenham Gold Cup – Denman v Kauto Star
Andrew Franklin, John Fairley, Denise Large, Sophie Veats
C4/Highflyer Digital
Olympics 2008
Production Team
BBC One/BBC Sport
Wimbledon 2008 – The Men’s Final
Production Team
BBC One/BBC Sports


BAFTA maskEmbarrassing Bodies Online
Production Team Television
Bryony Makes A Zombie Movie
Production Team
BBC Three Online & TV/Hat Trick Productions
Sian Davies, Simon Rooney
BBC One/BBC Productions
Olympics 2008
Production Team
BBC One/BBC Sport

[WEBCASTPOPUP:|TEXT:Entertainment Programme

  • **|WIDTH:470|HEIGHT:300]

BAFTA maskX Factor
Richard Holloway, Andrew Llinares, Siobhan Greene, Mark Sidaway
Friday/Sunday Night Project
Dean Nabarro, Richard Ackerman, Andrew Westwell, Emma Hardy
C4/Princess Productions
Harry Hill’s TV Burp
Harry Hill, Peter Orton, Spencer Millman
ITV1/Avalon Television
John Lloyd, Piers Fletcher, Ian Lorimer
BBC One/TalkbackTHAMES

  • *****

[WEBCASTPOPUP:|TEXT:Comedy Programme|WIDTH:470|HEIGHT:300]

BAFTA maskHarry and Paul
Harry Enfield, Paul Whitehouse, Sandy Johnson, Geoffrey Perkins
BBC One/Tiger Aspect Productions
The Peter Serafinowicz Show
Peter Serafinowicz, James Serafinowicz, Ben Farrell, Becky Martin
BBC Two/Objective Productions
Star Stories
Lee Hupfield, Ben Palmer, Michael Livingstone, Phil Clarke
C4/Objective Productions
That Mitchell and Webb Look
Gareth Edwards, David Kerr, David Mitchell, Robert Webb
BBC Two/BBC Productions

[WEBCASTPOPUP:|TEXT:Situation Comedy|WIDTH:470|HEIGHT:300]

BAFTA maskThe IT Crowd
Graham Linehan, Richard Boden, Ash Atalla
C4/Talkback Productions
The Inbetweeners
Damon Beesley, Iain Moris, Gordon Anderson, Chris Young
E4/BWark Productions
Andy Hamilton, Guy Jenkin
BBC One/Hat Trick Productions
Peep Show
Sam Bain, Jesse Armstrong, Becky Martin, Izzy Mant
C4/Objective Productions

[WEBCASTPOPUP:|TEXT:Philips Audience Award|WIDTH:470|HEIGHT:300]

Philips Audience Award logo tight crop Skins - WINNER
The Apprentice
Coronation Street
X Factor



Special Award


TV09 Winners Press Release (106.9 KB)