You are here

The 2024 Yugo BAFTA Student Awards Finalists

BAFTA has announced the 15 finalists for the 2024 Yugo BAFTA Student Awards, including our first-ever finalists to represent Mexico. These student projects were voted on by BAFTA members from, 800 submissions from 109 schools across 37 countries, which included projects across narrative film, animation, documentary, 360 videos, Experiential VR, Immersive Installations, VR Games, and PC Games.   

Winners will be announced at the Yugo BAFTA Student Awards finale ceremony hosted by Elliot Knight (The Boys, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare III) at The Maybourne Beverly Hills on Friday, July 12. 

The Yugo BAFTA Student Awards will kick off its week of programming on Tuesday, July 9 with a finalist welcome brunch, screenings of the student films in New York and Los Angeles, and a Games and Immersive showcase.

The upcoming ceremony will mark 20 years of the BAFTA Student Awards, which started as a local competition for Los Angeles schools and now celebrates the works of the next generation of talented and innovative storytellers from around the globe. 

Universities and colleges worldwide were invited to submit their best projects for consideration for six categories – the BAFTA Student Film Award for Animation, the BAFTA Student Film Award for Documentary, the BAFTA Student Film Award for Live Action, the BAFTA Student Award for Games, the BAFTA Student Award for Immersive, and the Special Jury Prize. 

The Student Awards are a key component of BAFTA’s extensive Learning, Inclusion and Talent programs, created to ensure that talented individuals from across the globe are celebrated early in their journeys and are offered a clear pathway to careers in the entertainment industry. 

We thank our great friends and Title Sponsor at Yugo, as well as our Official Airline Partners at Delta, and Virgin Atlantic for their ongoing support. 

The finalist projects are (listed alphabetically by title) 


Juliette Michel, Axel Sence, Victoria Leviaux, Florian Gomes Freitas, Swann Valenza  
École MoPA, France 

Lisa Ott  
National Film and Television School, United Kingdom 

Téo Frantz, Violette Talalaeff, Dora Özal, Damien Rudeaux, Marjorie Dutriaux  
École MoPA, France 


Keepers Of The Kelp Forest  
Will Hollis  
National Film and Television School, United Kingdom 

Miranda Stern  
National Film and Television School, United Kingdom 

When the Floods Come  
Nyal Mueenuddin  
The University of the West of England, United Kingdom 


Haus am Hang (Halfway House) 
Konstantin Münzel 
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Germany 

Jason Adam Maselle  
New York University, United States 
María Conchita Díaz  
Centro de Capacitación Cinematográfica, A.C., Mexico 


Brieux Caquelin, Alexis Heng, Jonas Champoiral, Romain Coutellier, Anaïs Biscaras, Corentin Habib, Mickaël Flaesch-Perreau  
École Supérieure des Métiers Artistiques, France 

Ornament Express  
Fleur Jansen  
Breda University of Applied Sciences, Netherlands 

There Was a Home  
Wid Alhajjaji  
National Film and Television School, United Kingdom 


Smell Like Home 
Olivia (Jiaxuan) Yin 
New York University, United States 

Soup Stories 
Raz Aron 
The Steve Tisch School of Film & TV Tel Aviv University, Israel 

We Become Something Else 
Michael Overton Brown 
University of Southern California, United States