You are here

Winners of the British Academy Scotland Awards 2016 Unveiled

6 November 2016

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts in Scotland, BAFTA Scotland, has announced the winners of this year’s British Academy Scotland Awards at a glamorous red carpet ceremony at Glasgow’s Radisson Blu Hotel this evening.

Hosted by Edith Bowman, the Awards celebrated the very best in film, television and games produced over the last year in Scotland, with Bill Paterson, Gary Lewis, James McAvoy, Martin Compston and Vicky McClure among the sterling list of presenters handing out the coveted awards on the night.

The Outstanding Contribution to Craft award went to Christine Cant, renowned hair and make-up artist with over 35 years in the industry.  Cant’s award was one of two special recognitions given on the evening, with Sixteen Films, the production company formed by director Ken Loach, producer Rebecca O’Brien and writer Paul Laverty, also being honoured for its Outstanding Contribution to Film. Veteran broadcaster, Kirsty Wark, presented Christine with her award along with video tributes from her colleagues, including Noel Fielding, Christine Blundell and Jennifer Saunders, while Martin Compston and Gary Lewis presented O’Brien and Laverty with their prestigious award, alongside video messages from Paul Brannigan, William Ruane and Cillian Murphy.

One of the night’s biggest winners was Shetland, which scooped two of the four categories in which it was nominated. Douglas Henshall won the Actor Television award for his role in the crime drama and the show clinched the Television Drama category.

EVENT: BAFTA Scotland AwardsVENUE: Radisson Blu Hotel, GlasgowDATE: Sunday 6th November 2016HOST: Edith BowmanAREA: Press RoomBAFTA/Andy BuchananEvent: British Academy Scotland AwardsVenue: Radisson Blu Hotel, GlasgowDate: Sunday 6 November 2016Host: Edith Bowman-Area: PRESS ROOMBAFTA/Andy Buchanan

Peter Mullan received the Actor Film award for his role in Hector, while Couple in a Hole’s Kate Dickie won this year’s Actress Film award. Outlander’s Caitriona Balfe triumphed over Ashley Jensen and Annie Wallace to win this year’s Actress Television award. 

It was a long-awaited night of celebration for Ross Hogg, who received the Short Film award for Isabella. Hogg has been honoured by BAFTA Scotland before, winning a BAFTA Scotland New Talent Award for Animation in 2014, but this is his first British Academy Scotland Award, having been nominated four times in the last four years. 

Specialist Factual, a new category for 2016, saw Imagine…Richard Flanagan: Life After Death finish ahead of Ted Hughes: Stronger Then Death and The Truth About Dementia to claim the award. 

Sitcom Mrs Brown’s Boys won the Comedy/Entertainment category for the second year in a row, beating off competition from Scot Squad and Two Doors Down.

Other winners on the night included No Place Like Home for Animation, All Over the Workplace for Children’s Programme, BBC Scotland Investigates: Britain’s Puppy Dealers Exposed for Current Affairs, Tommy’s Honour for Feature Film, Douglas MacKinnon for Director Film/Television, This Farming Life in the Factual Series category, Supershoppers for Features/Factual Entertainment, Glitchspace for Game, Dunblane: Our Story for Single Documentary and DC Moore for Writer Film/Television.

Jude MacLaverty, Director of BAFTA Scotland, said:

This has been another incredible year for Scotland’s film, television and gaming industries and we’re honoured to be celebrating this tremendous mix of talent tonight. Once again, we offer our warmest congratulations to all our worthy winners.