You are here

Winners of the British Academy Scotland Awards 2015 Unveiled

15 November 2015

The winners of this year’s British Academy Scotland Awards have been unveiled at a glamorous red carpet ceremony at Glasgow’s Radisson Blu Hotel. 

Hosted by Edith Bowman, the Awards celebrated the very best in film, television and games produced over the last year in Scotland with a stellar line-up of presenters including Sophie Kennedy Clark, David Hayman and Ford Kiernan handing out the coveted awards.

(c)Alan PeeblesPhotographed by Alan Peebles(c) Alan PeeblesPhotographed by Alan Peebles






The Outstanding Contribution to Broadcasting award went to Dorothy Byrne, the Head of News and Current Affairs at Channel 4 and award-winning editor. Byrne’s award was one of three special recognitions given on the evening, as Bill Paterson and David Balfour were also celebrated. Paterson was heralded for his Outstanding Contribution to Film & Television, and was presented his trophy by director Bill Forsyth along with video tributes by colleagues, friends and family including Juliet Stevenson, Alex Norton and Brian Cox. David Balfour was recognised for his Outstanding Contribution to Craft and was presented the award by Gregory’s Girl’s John Gordon Sinclair along with a short video message from legendary director and BAFTA Fellow Martin Scorsese, with whom Balfour worked on the 3D film Hugo.

Owing to the high number of entries, male and female performances were recognised in two discrete categories for the second year running across both the Film and Television categories. David Elliot (Actor Film, Kajaki: The True Story), Ken Stott (Actor Television, The Missing) and Emma Thompson (Actress Film, The Legend of Barney Thomson) all won BAFTA Scotland Awards in their respective categories. Sharon Rooney, a BAFTA Breakthrough Brit in 2013 and nominated for the same role at the British Academy Scotland Awards in 2013 and 2014, won the Actress Television award for My Mad Fat Diary.

One of the night’s biggest winners was The Legend of Barney Thomson, winning two of the four categories in which it was nominated. As well as Thompson’s Actress Film win, the dark comedy finished ahead of 16 Years Till Summer and What We Did On Our Holiday to win the Feature Film award.

Ainslie Henderson’s Stems was awarded the Animation award, the third time in four years that the he and long-term collaborator, Will Anderson, have been honoured by BAFTA Scotland, having picked up a British Academy Scotland Award 2014 in the Animation category and a BAFTA Scotland New Talent Award in 2012.  Henderson also received a BAFTA alongside Anderson for Short Animation at the EE British Academy Film Awards in 2013.

This year’s Children’s Programme award went to CBBC show The Dog Ate My Homework, the school-based panel show which was nominated for the same British Academy Scotland Award in 2014.

Comedy sitcom Mrs Brown’s Boys triumphed in the Comedy/Entertainment category, which follows Brendan O’Carroll’s nomination for Best Male Performance in a Comedy Programme at this year’s British Academy Television Awards.

Other winners on the night included Low Pay Britain (Dispatches) for Current Affairs, Donald Coutts in the Director Film/Television category, Being 16 In 2014 for Factual Series, It Was Alright In The 70s for Features/Factual Entertainment, Distant Star: Revenant Fleet for Game, Mining Poems or Odes for Short Film, The Bridge: Fifty Year’s Across the Forth for Single Documentary, Glasgow Girls for Television Drama and Gregory Burke for Writer Film/Television.

Jude MacLaverty, Director of BAFTA Scotland, said:

It has been a wonderful evening and this year’s winners highlight the diversity of international and national projects choosing Scotland as a filming destination and the rich seam of Scottish talent working throughout the UK. We offer our warmest congratulations to all our worthy winners.

View the full list of British Academy Scotland Awards 2015 winners and nominees
View photos from the Red Carpet