You are here

Press Releases

Event: Scholarship & Bursary Recipients Visit BAFTA 195 PiccadillyDate: Thursday 27 January 2021Venue: BAFTA, 195 Piccadilly, London-Area: Reportage

BAFTA announces new initiatives to improve access to creative careers as part of visit by The Duke of Cambridge

27 January 2022
  • BAFTA President, The Duke of Cambridge visited BAFTA to hear more about its ongoing support to develop the next generation of talent
  • BAFTA launches new career development bursary fund in the name of HRH The Duke of Cambridge
  • A new tier of BAFTA membership announced for emerging and mid-level professionals
  • BAFTA Elevate to advocate and aid the progression of producers in film and television who are disabled, from minority ethnic backgrounds and low-socioeconomic backgrounds.
  • BAFTA headquarters at 195 Piccadilly redeveloped as a centre of creative excellence with a new dedicated learning space to enable an expansion of the arts charity’s learning and new talent development programmes

Emma Willis, Oti Mabuse and Kit Young go back to school for Children’s Mental Health Week

26 January 2022
  • UK schools invited to join a national virtual assembly on 7 February to kick off Children’s Mental Health Week 2022
  • Stars including Emma Willis and Oti Mabuse to take part in the assemblies, celebrating the theme of ‘Growing Together’
  • Additionally, Dr Alex George (UK Youth Mental Health Ambassador), Mandip Gill (Doctor Who, Hollyoaks), Jacob Anderson (Game of Thrones) and more share their personal journeys as part of a series of exclusive online interviews for the week
Event: BAFTA Breakthrough PhotoshootDate: Saturday 6 November & Sunday 7 November 2021Venue: Simpsons in the Strand, Strand, London-

BAFTA unveils its UK and US Breakthrough participants for 2021

8 December 2021
  • 36 'must-watch' creatives from film, games and television to receive professional development and global networking opportunities from BAFTA, with the support of Netflix
  • Breakthrough participants selected by cross-industry global jury of industry experts including Afua Hirsch, Niamh Algar, Tim Renkow, Rutina Wesley, Ade Rawcliffe, Bruce Miller, and Colin Trevorrow