You are here

Winners announced for 2019 British Academy Cymru Awards

13 October 2019
Event: British Academy Cymru Awards Nominees' PartyDate: Thursday 3 October 2019 Venue: Cornerstone, Charles St, CardiffBAFTA / Polly Thomas

Anorac leads the way with four Awards

Feature films lead craft category winners

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) in Wales, BAFTA Cymru, has announced the winners of the 2019 British Academy Cymru Awards. The awards honour excellence in broadcasting and production within film, games and television in Wales and inspire the next generation of creative talent.

The ceremony was hosted once again by BBC Radio 1 presenter, Huw Stephens, at St David’s Hall, Cardiff, where presenters included Ruth Jones (Gavin and Stacey, Stella), Joanna Scanlan (No Offence, Requiem, The Accident), Craig Roberts (Horrible Histories: Rotten Romans, Just Jim, Submarine) and Edward Bluemel (Killing Eve, A Discovery of Witches).

Other guests attending included Cath Ayers (Keeping Faith, Byw Celwydd), Gwyneth Keyworth (Hidden, Bang, Black Mirror), Nia Roberts (Pili Pala, Bang, 35 Diwrnod), Suzanne Packer (Stella, Casualty, Keeping Faith) and Jacob Ifan (Bang, Discovery of Witches).

Trystan Gravelle (Baptiste, Mr Selfridge), Rakie Ayola (Shetland, No Offence), comedian Tudur Owen, Morfydd Clark (Dracula, His Dark Materials, Patrick Melrose) also joined Gwilym Lee (Bohemian Rhapsody, Jamestown) to present awards.

Guests were treated to a live performance from North Walian singer/songwriter Casi Wyn and Jo Hartley (This is England, Eddie the Eagle, In My Skin), members of the cast of Doctor Who, actor/first time director Tom Cullen (Downton Abbey, Knightfall) and comedian Elis James attended to support nominations.

26 Awards were presented during the ceremony in front of an audience of 900 guests and additional content was provided online with a live stream of the ceremony and, for the first time this year, backstage interviews with winners were hosted on BAFTA social media channels.

Anorac received four awards – for Editing (Madoc Roberts), Photography: Factual (Joni Cray and Gruffydd Davies), Presenter (Huw Stephens) and Sound (Jules Davies).

In the other performance categories, the actress award was collected by first-time nominee Gabrielle Creevey for her role in In My Skin, which also won the Television Drama category. The actor award was presented to Celyn Jones for his role as Levi Bellfield in ITV drama Manhunt, for which director Marc Evans collected the Director: Fiction award.

Welsh film was well-represented this year with the Feature/TV Film Award going to Last Summer, OBEY writer/director Jamie Jones collecting the Breakthrough award and the Snowdonia-set period feature film Gwen collecting two awards for Photography and Lighting: Fiction (Adam Etherington) and Costume Design (Dinah Collin). The Netflix feature film Apostle also collected two awards for Make Up and Hair (Claire Williams) and Special and Visual Effects (Bait Studio).

Welsh individuals working on UK productions also collected awards this year. Pontyclyn’s Catrin Meredydd collected the BAFTA Cymru award for Production Design for her work on Black Mirror: Bandersnatch and Russell T Davies was presented with the Writer award for A Very English Scandal.

In the factual categories a health theme was shared by the winning programmes, with Mei Williams winning the Director: Factual award for The Incurable Optimist, while Velindre – Hospital of Hope won the Factual Series and Critical: Inside Intensive Care receiving the Single Documentary award.

The Game award was collected for the second year by Wales Interactive for Time Carnage VR.

The Children’s Programme award was won by Going for Gold and the Entertainment Programme award by Priodas Pum Mil while BBC Wales/BBC One’s The Universal Credit Crisis won the News and Current Affairs award.

The Short Film award was won by University of the West of England graduate Lowri Roberts for Girl.

Hannah Raybould, Director of BAFTA Cymru, said: “The breadth of talent in the film, games and television industry continues to excel across all the craft, performance and production areas represented at our Awards. It has been heartening to see the highest ever engagement in terms of entries received this year and we look forward to working with the nominees and winners to offer advice and inspiration to those aspiring to work in these fields through our year-round events programme.”

Event sponsors and partners have been confirmed as AB Acoustics, Aberystwyth University, Acuity Law, Audi UK, Bad Wolf, BBC Cymru Wales, Bluestone Brewery, Buzz Magazine, Capital Law, Cardiff Council, Champagne Taittinger, Channel 4, Clarins, Cuebox, Da Mhile Gin, Deloitte, DRESD, EE, Elstree Light and Power, Gorilla, Iceland, ITV Wales, Ken Picton Salon, Mad Dog 2020 Casting, Radisson Blu, San Pellegrino/Acqua Panna, S4C, St Davids Hall, Taylor Bloxham, The Social Club, Agency, Trosol, University of South Wales, University of Wales Trinity Saint David, Villa Maria, Waterstone Homes, Welsh Government, Working Word and Yr Egin.

For press access to BAFTA images
Please Credit Images to: BAFTA/Rex Shutterstock
For further images from this event, including exclusive ceremony and backstage coverage, please visit

For further information, please contact:

Lydia Jones at Working Word

T: 029 2045 5182

E: [email protected] 


(listed in order of presentation)


Priodas Pum Mil

TELEVISION DRAMA (sponsored by Cardiff Council)

In My Skin

NEWS AND CURRENT AFFAIRS (sponsored by Working Word)
The Universal Credit Crisis

PHOTOGRAPHY: FACTUAL (sponsored by Genero)

Joni Cray and Gruffydd Davies for Anorac

SINGLE DOCUMENTARY (sponsored by Aberystwyth University)
Critical: Inside Intensive Care

SHORT FILM (sponsored by University of Wales Trinity Saint David)



Jamie Jones

EDITING (sponsored by Gorilla)

Madoc Roberts for Anorac

DIRECTOR: FACTUAL (sponsored by Capital Law)

Mei Williams for The Incurable Optimist

FACTUAL SERIES (sponsored by Acuity Law)

Velindre – The Hospital of Hope

SIAN PHILLIPS AWARD (sponsored by Bad Wolf)

Bethan Jones

SOUND (sponsored by AB Acoustics)

Jules Davies for Anorac

PRESENTER (sponsored by Deloitte)

Huw Stephens for Anorac


Time Carnage VR

MAKE UP AND HAIR (sponsored by Ken Picton)

Claire Williams for Apostle


Catrin Meredydd for Black Mirror: Bandersnatch


Adam Etherington for Gwen

DIRECTOR: FICTION (sponsored by Champagne Taittinger)

Marc Evans for Manhunt

FEATURE/TV FILM (sponsored by Film and TV School Wales)

Last Summer

WRITER (sponsored by The Social Club. Agency)

Russell T Davies for A Very English Scandal

SPECIAL AND VISUAL EFFECTS (sponsored by Bomper Studio)

Bait Studio for Apostle

CHILDREN’S PROGRAMME (sponsored by Canolfan S4C yr Egin)

Going for Gold


Dinah Collin for Gwen


Lynwen Brennan, Lucasfilm

ACTRESS (sponsored by Waterstone Homes)

Gabrielle Creevy for In My Skin

ACTOR (sponsored by AUDI UK)

Celyn Jones for Manhunt


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For advice and inspiration from the best creative minds in working in film, games and television, visit For more, visit