You are here

TV Winners Announced

20 April 2008
Best Actress winner Eileen Atkins for Cranford.BAFTA / Richard Kendal

The winners of the British Academy Television Awards supported by Sky+ have been announced at a ceremony in the London Palladium.

  • Two BAFTA wins for HARRY HILL for Entertainment Performance and Entertainment Programme
  • Two victories for GAVIN & STACEY for Comedy Performance and Sky+ Audience Award
  • EILEEN ATKINS wins her first BAFTA at the age of 73
  • First time winner HOLBY CITY wins the battle of the Soaps

Harry Hill and Gavin and Stacey both claimed double victories at this year’s British Academy Television Awards supported by Sky+ hosted by Graham Norton. Harry Hill picked up two coveted BAFTA masks for Harry Hill’s TV Burp in the Entertainment Programme category (beating Strictly Come Dancing, Have I Got News For You and Britain’s Got Talent) and in the Entertainment Performance category for the same programme. James Corden

  • took the prize for Comedy Performance for Gavin and Stacey and the show won the Sky+ Audience Award, the only Award voted for by the public.

Eileen Atkins who was last nominated 39 years ago pipped her screen sister Judi Dench to the post for her performance in Cranford, in the prestigious Actress category. Andrew Garfield took the Actor award for his touching portrayal of a juvenile child-killer haunted by the actions of his past in Boy A.

Among the thirteen first time winners were hospital saga Holby City which won the hard-fought Continuing Drama battle; Ramsay’s Kitchen Nightmares in the Features category and Channel 4’s Fonejacker for the Comedy Programme award.

It was also a first for Heroes which was victorious in the International category. Peter Kosminsky’s powerful drama about Muslims in post 7/7 Britain gave Britz the coveted prize for Drama Serial beating Cranford, Five Days and Murphy’s Law and after two previous nominations, Peep Show picked up the award for Situation Comedy.

The Mark of Cain which depicted the harsh realities of war was victorious in the Single Drama category, while Jimmy McGovern’s poignant, passionate and compelling drama The Street won for Drama Series for the second year running.

The Tower: A Tale of Two Cities received the BAFTA for Factual Series while Andrew Marr triumphed in Specialist Factual for his eponymous History of Modern Britain. Lie of the Land received the Single Documentary award while Current Affairs went to China’s Stolen Children: A Dispatches Special.

Sky News was victorious in the News Coverage category for the Glasgow Airport Attack and the Canadian Grand Prix Live brought a consecutive win to ITV1’s Formula One in the Sport category. Spooks Interactive won the Interactivity BAFTA.

This year’s Special Award was presented by John Hurt and went to BAFTA-winning film-maker Paul Watson. Often described as the founding father of fly-on-the-wall television with his ground-breaking The Family series, his other credits include Sylvania Waters, Rain In My Heart and the two heart-rending documentaries about Malcolm & Barbara (A Love Story and Love’s Farewell) which charted the painful journey of Malcolm Pointon’s descent into, and death from, Alzheimers.

The final honours of the evening went to Bruce Forsyth who received the highest accolade the Academy can bestow, the Fellowship. The ultimate showman was presented the award by huge fan Paul Merton and the Palladium was a fitting scene as he was thrust into its spotlight from virtual obscurity when he hosted Val Parnell’s Sunday Night at the London Palladium back in 1958. Since then Bruce’s prodigious credits include Beat the Clock, The Bruce Forsyth Show, The Generation Game, Play Your Cards Right, and latterly the huge Saturday night ratings-winner Strictly Come Dancing.

This year the BAFTA website is providing online videos of red carpet highlights and backstage interviews with all the winners. Clips of all the nominated programmes and all the latest images from the night’s events will also be free to view online.

All the exclusive online content will be available on the night of the Awards at

Notes to editors:

  • The Entertainment Programme award is given in honour of Lew Grade
  • The Specialist Factual award is given in honour of Huw Wheldon
  • The Single Documentary award is given in honour of Robert Flaherty
  • This year, the Special Award was given in honour of Alan Clarke.

Eligibility period for the awards: Calendar year 2007

Wins by channel

Channel 4 has won 8, BBC One has won 5, BBC Two has won 2, ITV1has won 3, BBC Three has won 1, Sky has also won 1


The British Academy of Film and television Arts supports, develops and promotes the art forms of the moving image by identifying and rewarding excellence, inspiring practitioners and benefiting the public.

Sky+ Audience Award

Sky+ Audience Award is for the Programme of the Year in 2007 and is the only award voted for by the public. The shortlist was compiled by panellists from a broad ranging panel of print media. Sky+ is the UK’s most popular personal video recorder, allows viewers to pause and rewind live TV, record two channels at the same time, set up series links to record every episode of a show and even set recordings from anywhere in the world via a PC or mobile phone.

For more information on the British Academy Television Awards contact:

Zoe Anderson at freud communications
020 3003 6300 or [email protected]
Danielle Robinson at freud communications
020 3003 6316 or [email protected]

TV08 Winners Press Release (109.3 KB)