You are here

Television Craft Awards Winners Announced

8 May 2011
Stephen Mangan & Tamsin Greig ©BAFTA/Chris Sharp

This evening the British Academy of Film and Television Arts announced the winners of their annual British Academy Television Craft Awards, held at The Brewery in the City of London, and hosted by Stephen Mangan.

  • Two BAFTA Masks each for Downton Abbey and Human Planet
  • Springwatch receives the Special Award
  • Any Human Heart, Coronation Street, The Cube, Dispatches,
  • Elgar: The Man Behind the Mask, Eric and Ernie, Merlin,
  • Million Pound Drop Live, Misfits, Mongrels, Sherlock, South Riding,
  • This is England ’86 and Worried About the Boy - all win one BAFTA each

Honouring the very best behind the scenes talent from television and new media, it was a glittering night with a guest list including: Victoria Wood, Tamsin Grieg, Hugh Bonneville, Pamela Stephenson, Mark Gatiss, Olivia Colman, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Katie Piper, Stephen Graham, Nina Sosanya, Ben Price, Paterson Joseph, Lesley Sharp, Paul Whitehouse and Chris Packham supporting their colleagues on the night.

Leading the way with two coveted BAFTA masks was ITV1’s Downton Abbey with Brian Percival winning for Director: Fiction and Nigel Heath, Alex Sawyer, Adam Armitage and Mark Holding taking home the award for Sound: Fiction.

Also with two wins was BBC One’s Human Planet series for their Arctic episode; Jason Savage winning for Editing: Factual and Will Edwards, Doug Allan and Matt Norman for Photography: Factual.

This year’s Special Award was presented to BBC’s Springwatch in recognition of its outstanding creative and technical teamwork both behind the camera and online, in a series that charts the fortunes of British wildlife during the changing seasons.

The new category for Director: Multi-Camera was won by Tony Prescott for ITV1’s Coronation Street (live episode) – the hour-long special to celebrate their fifty years on air. Director: Factual was awarded to Dan Reed for Channel 4’s Dispatches: The Battle for Haiti; capturing the daily battle for Haiti's future.

The Break-Through Talent category was won by writer Jon Brown for BBC Three’s Mongrels – the adult puppet comedy series starring urban animals.

Costume Design was won by Annie Symons for her New Romantic costumes for BBC Two’s Worried About the Boy. Another eighties nod was given for Make Up & Hair Design to Catherine Scoble for Channel 4’s This Is England ’86.

A delighted Victoria Wood and actor Daniel Rigby (who played Eric Morecambe) cheered on writer Peter Bowker, who won the Writer BAFTA for BBC Two’s film Eric and Ernie.

The British Academy Television Craft Awards recognise skills across 18 different categories - Break-Through Talent sponsored by The Farm, Costume Design sponsored by Swarovski, Digital Creativity, Director: Factual sponsored by ProductionBase, Director: Fiction sponsored by ProductionBase: Director: Multi-Camera, Editing: Factual, Editing: Fiction, Entertainment Craft Team sponsored by Hotcam, Make-up and Hair Design sponsored by MAC, Original Music, Photography: Factual, Photography & Lighting: Fiction, Production Design, Sound: Factual, Sound: Fiction, Visual Effects and Writer.

For further information, please contact:

Deborah Goodman Publicity
Deborah Goodman
T: 020 8 959 9980 / 07958 611218
E: [email protected]


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts is an independent charity that supports, develops and promotes the art forms of the moving image by identifying and rewarding excellence, inspiring practitioners and benefiting the public. In addition to its Awards ceremonies, BAFTA has a year-round Learning & Events programme that offers unique access to some of the world’s most inspiring talent through workshops, masterclasses, lectures and mentoring schemes, connecting with audiences of all ages and backgrounds across the UK, Los Angeles and New York. BAFTA relies on income from membership subscriptions, individual donations, trusts, foundations and corporate partnerships to support its ongoing outreach work. For further information, visit

BAFTA Television Craft Awards Winners Press Release (85 KB)

TV Craft Awards Winner List 2011 (92 KB)