You are here

Television Awards in 2012: Winners Announced

27 May 2012
Host (and nominee) Dara O' Briain opens the show.BAFTA/ Steve Butler

Five first-time winners took home performance Awards from this evening’s Arqiva British Academy Television Awards.

  • Monica Dolan, Andrew Scott, Darren Boyd, Emily Watson and Dominic West
all win their first BAFTAs
  • Graham Norton wins Entertainment Performance Award for the second year running – his fifth win in the category
  • Jennifer Saunders wins for Absolutely Fabulous
  • Three performance BAFTAs for Appropriate Adult
  • Steven Moffat accepts the Academy’s Special Award from Matt Smith and Benedict Cumberbatch

Rolf Harris is presented with the Academy Fellowship

Dominic West and Monica Dolan, both first-time nominees for their performances as Fred and Rose West in Appropriate Adult, won the BAFTAs for Leading Actor and Supporting Actress respectively. Emily Watson was presented with the Leading Actress BAFTA for her role as Janet, also in Appropriate Adult.

The Supporting Actor Award went to Andrew Scott for his performance as Moriarty in Sherlock.
Another first-time winner, Darren Boyd won the Male Performance in a Comedy Programme Award for Sky One’s Spy. Jennifer Saunders received the Female Performance in a Comedy Programme Award for the reprisal of her role as Edina Monsoon in Absolutely Fabulous, a role for which she was last nominated in 1992

  • .

Last year’s winner Graham Norton made it two-in-a-row for best Entertainment Performance, winning once again for The Graham Norton Show.

The Situation Comedy Award was won by Mrs Brown’s Boys, which missed out in the same category last year. Stewart Lee’s Comedy Vehicle took home the BAFTA for Comedy Programme.
Channel 4 claimed the Mini Series Award for This Is England ‘88, the sequel to This Is England ’86, as well as the Single Drama Award for Random, which tells the story of an ordinary family whose routine is shattered by a random act. BBC Three’s supernatural drama The Fades won the Drama Series Award.

Coronation Street walked away with the Soap & Continuing Drama Award, its first BAFTA since 2004

  • *.

The Great British Bake Off won the BAFTA for Features and The Young Apprentice took the Award in the newly-created Reality and Constructed Factual category.

In the Entertainment category, Derren Brown: The Experiments fought off tough competition to win the Award.

Channel 4 News won the BAFTA in the News Coverage category for its reporting of the Japan Earthquake.

The BBC enjoyed a strong showing in the factual categories: Factual Series went to Our War; the Single Documentary Award was given to Terry Pratchett: Choosing to Die; and Current Affairs was won by Undercover Care: The Abuse Exposed (Panorama).

Channel 4’s Mummifying Alan: Egypt’s Last Secret won the Specialist Factual category.
The BBC’s coverage of The Royal Wedding claimed the BAFTA for Sport & Live Event. New Danish thriller Borgen scooped the International Award. The interactive website Pyschoville, accompanying the BBC series, took home the BAFTA in the New Media category.

A record number of public votes were registered for this year’s YouTube Audience Award. Celebrity Juice took away the Award, beating Educating Essex, Fresh Meat, Frozen Planet, The Great British Bake Off and Sherlock.

Two weeks after collecting the Writer Award at the British Academy Television Craft Awards, Steven Moffat received the Special Award. The Award, in the gift of the Academy and presented in honour of Dennis Potter, recognised his outstanding career in television.

The Fellowship, the highest accolade the Academy can bestow, was presented to Rolf Harris CBE in recognition of his outstanding and exceptional contribution to television and the arts.

Red carpet highlights, backstage interviews with all the winners, clips of the nominated programmes and all the latest images from the night’s events are available at

  • This page was updated on 30 June 2014 to reflect the decision to annul the Fellowship bestowed upon Rolf Harris following his conviction.
  • * denotes year of eligibility, not presentation

2012 TV Awards Winners List (72.1 KB)

Further Information

For further information, please contact Dan Maynard at freud communications on...

T: 0203 003 6649
M: 07960 965 416
E: [email protected]

Notes to Editors


  • Programmes must have had their first transmission in the UK between 1 March 2011 and 15 February 2012 on terrestrial, cable, satellite or digital channels.
  • Programmes may be regional or networked.
  • International programmes are only eligible in the International category, unless they are co-productions (both financially and creatively, and provided the first transmission was in the UK).


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts is an independent charity that supports, develops and promotes the art forms of the moving image by identifying and rewarding excellence, inspiring practitioners and benefiting the public. In addition to its Awards ceremonies, BAFTA has a year-round Learning & Events programme that offers unique access to some of the world’s most inspiring talent through workshops, masterclasses, lectures and mentoring schemes, connecting with audiences of all ages and backgrounds across the UK, Los Angeles and New York. BAFTA relies on income from membership subscriptions, individual donations, trusts, foundations and corporate partnerships to support its ongoing outreach work. For further information, visit

About Arqiva

Arqiva, the communications infrastructure and media services company, operates at the heart of the broadcast, satellite and mobile communications markets. The company is at the forefront of network solutions and services in the digital world. Arqiva provides much of the infrastructure behind television, radio, satellite and wireless communications in the UK and has a significant presence in Ireland, mainland Europe and the USA. Customers include major broadcasters such as the BBC, ITV, BSkyB and the independent radio groups, major telco providers including the UK's five mobile network operators, and the emergency services.