You are here

Television Awards in 2011: Winners Announced

22 May 2011
Jon Snow and Kevin Pieterson presented McDonald with the Fellowship, the highest accolade BAFTA can bestow. (Pic: BAFTA/Richard Kendal)BAFTA / Richard Kendal

The winners of the 2011 Philips British Academy Television Awards were announced at the ceremony held at London's Grosvenor House Hotel on 22 May and hosted by Graham Norton.

  • Daniel Rigby, Vicky McClure, Martin Freeman, Lauren Socha and Jo Brand win their first BAFTAs
  • Ceremony host Graham Norton wins Entertainment Performance award
  • Steve Coogan wins his first BAFTA for 12 years for The Trip
  • Two BAFTAs for Sherlock
  • Danish crime thriller The Killing wins International award
  • Sir Trevor MacDonald is presented with an Academy Fellowship

Five first-time winners took home performance awards from this evening’s Philips British Academy Television Awards. Daniel Rigby and Vicky McClure, both nominated for the first time, won the Leading Actor and Leading Actress BAFTAs. Daniel was awarded for his performance as Eric Morecambe in biopic Eric and Ernie and Vicky for playing Lol in Shane Meadows’ This Is England ’86.

The Supporting Actor award went to Martin Freeman for his performance as Watson in Sherlock, which also won the Drama Series BAFTA.

Lauren Socha won the Supporting Actress award for Misfits, last year’s Drama Series winner.

Jo Brand also won her first BAFTA this evening. She took home the Female Performance in a Comedy Programme award for Getting On. Jo had been nominated for her performance in the show at last year’s ceremony.

The Male Performance in a Comedy Programme BAFTA was awarded to Steve Coogan for The Trip. Steve last won a BAFTA in 1998, when he won two awards for I’m Alan Partridge.

The ceremony was hosted by Graham Norton, who received the Entertainment Performance award for The Graham Norton Show. Graham won this category three times in a row, in 2000, 2001 and 2002 for So Graham Norton, but had not been nominated since.

The Entertainment Programme award was won for the first time by The Cube.

Channel 4 claimed the Drama Serial award for Any Human Heart, the four-part adaptation of William Boyd’s novel.

BBC Four’s drama about the creation of the UK’s longest running soap opera The Road to Coronation Street won the Single Drama award. However Coronation Street was beaten to the Continuing Drama award by EastEnders for the second year running.

Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s campaigning series Hugh’s Fish Fight won the Features BAFTA.

ITV News at Ten won the News Coverage BAFTA for the third year running, this year for its reporting of the Cumbria murders.

The BBC enjoyed a very strong showing in the factual categories – Factual Series went to Welcome to Lagos, which explored life in the Nigerian capital; Between Life and Death, which follows the doctors who can now interrupt, and even reverse, the process of death, won the

Single Documentary award and Current Affairs was won by undercover documentary Zimbabwe’s Forgotten Children.

Sky’s Flying Monsters 3D won the Specialist Factual category, the first 3D programme to win a Television BAFTA.

Harry and Paul triumphed in the Comedy Programme category, reprising its win of two years ago. The Situation Comedy award went to new BBC Two series Rev, starring Tom Hollander.

The BBC’s coverage of Formula 1, for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix claimed the Sport BAFTA. Cult Danish crime thriller The Killing scooped the International BAFTA. The interactive website Wallace and Gromit’s World of Invention, which accompanied the BBC series, won the New Media BAFTA.

A record number of public votes were registered for this year’s YouTube Audience Award. The Only Way Is Essex took away the award, beating Big Fat Gypsy Weddings, Downton Abbey, The Killing, Miranda and Sherlock.

The Special Award, in the gift of the Academy, was presented to Peter Bennett-Jones in recognition of outstanding contribution to the entertainment industry and for his development of new talent.

The Fellowship, the highest accolade bestowed by the Academy, was presented to Sir Trevor MacDonald in recognition of his outstanding contribution to television and, in particular, news broadcasting.

Red carpet highlights, backstage interviews with all the winners, clips of the nominated programmes and all the latest images from the night’s events are available at

British Academy Television Awards Winners In 2011 Press Release (115.5 KB)

British Academy Television Awards Winners In 2011 List (68.5 KB)

British Academy Television Awards Winners In 2011 Previous Noms And Wins (38 KB)

For further information, please contact:

Mary Williams at Freud Communications
T 020 3003 6387
E [email protected]