You are here

Television and Television Craft Awards Now Open for Entries

12 October 2015
Event: House of Fraser British Academy Television AwardsDate: Sun 10 May 2015Venue: Theatre Royal, Drury LaneHost: Graham Norton-Area: CEREMONYBAFTA/Stephen Butler
  • Awards now open for entries with latest Rules & Guidelines published
  • Sport and Live Event become separate categories at Television Awards

London, 12 October 2015: The British Academy of Film and Television Arts has announced today that its British Academy Television Craft Awards and House of Fraser British Academy Television Awards are now open for entries.

Changes to this year’s Television Awards include the introduction of two discrete categories for Sport and Live Event, which enables BAFTA to recognise a wider range of programming and talent across those disciplines than before.

Krishnendu Majumdar, Chair of BAFTA’s Television Committee, said: “We strive to ensure our Awards remain relevant to the industry while staying ahead of programming trends and our audiences’ viewing habits. The creation of two new categories – Sport and Live Event – where previously there was only one follows our annual review of all our categories, where we get feedback from our members and the industry at large and make the necessary changes.

“The levels of creative excellence seen in British television production have never been higher, and with entrants being able to enter themselves directly into the Television Craft Awards  – our ceremony for recognising the very best behind-the-scenes talent – we’re looking forward to rewarding and honoring a more diverse range of people and programming than ever before.”

The new Rules & Guidelines for both Awards are now available on BAFTA’s website,

Entry for all categories opens today, Monday 12 October, and closes on Friday 4 December. 

The British Academy Television Craft Awards takes place on Sunday 24 April 2016 and the House of Fraser British Academy Television Awards on Sunday 8 May 2016.


About eligibility

Programmes must have had their first transmission in the UK between 1 January and 31 December 2015 on terrestrial, cable, satellite or digital channels, including web based broadcasters who commission content. Programmes that are self-commissioned and published are not eligible for the Television Awards

About the Awards

The British Academy Television Awards and the British Academy Television Craft Awards are two of BAFTA’s annual ceremonies and recognise, honour and reward individuals for outstanding achievement in television and television craft.

The awards categories reflect the wealth and diversity of British television.

The Academy also honours individuals with awards in recognition of their contribution to the television industry. These awards are in the gift of the Academy; they are approved by the Television Committee and ratified by the Board of Trustees, and are presented at the aforementioned ceremonies.

For further information, please contact freuds:

Dan Maynard

T 020 3003 6649

M 07971 058864

E [email protected]


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts is an independent charity that supports, develops and promotes the art forms of the moving image by identifying and rewarding excellence, inspiring practitioners and benefiting the public. In addition to its Awards ceremonies, BAFTA has a year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – featuring workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes – in the UK, USA and Asia; it offers unique access to the world’s most inspiring talent and connects with a global audience of all ages and backgrounds. BAFTA relies on income from membership subscriptions, individual donations, trusts, foundations and corporate partnerships to support its ongoing outreach work. To access the best creative minds in film, television and games production, visit For more, visit