You are here

BAFTA Opens for Entries with New Criteria and Categories for British Academy Children's Awards in 2018

5 June 2018
Children's Awards Logo

Entry opens Tuesday 5 June
New eligibility criteria and key dates published
Three new categories introduced
Ceremony takes place Sunday 25 November

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts has today published its latest rules and guidelines for the British Academy Children’s Awards. The Awards, which take place in London on Sunday 25 November 2018, are now open for entries.

The Awards have recognised and celebrated the very best in children’s media since 1996. Following an annual review of the Children’s Awards’ categories and eligibility criteria, a raft of changes has been announced that reflect developments within the industry and the quality and breadth of content now available to young audiences today.

BAFTA continues to shine a light on the best up and coming talent with the introduction of a new Young Performer category for under 18s. The existing Performer category will be for over 18s.

The existing Learning categories will be combined into one award, Content For Change, which rewards content that has a distinct learning or social message for well-being at the heart of the programme.

A new award for Single Programme will be added, with animation, live action and scripted work being eligible.

A new category for Director, across all genres will also be introduced, alongside the existing craft category for Writer.

All platforms that are commissioning content are able to enter the awards.  The renamed Channel category (previously Channel of the Year) is open to all platforms, whether online or traditional broadcasters.

In response to the increased output and impact of international programming on a young audience, and the wealth of entries received in recent years, the International category will be expanded to three separate categories: International Pre-School, International Animation and International Live Action.

Emma Baehr, BAFTA’s Director of Awards and Membership, said: “BAFTA is at the forefront in rewarding and recognising excellence in children’s content and we hope that the changes announced today will help us stay ahead of the ever changing children’s media landscape. As the nation’s viewing habits continue to evolve, we’re keen that our awards showcase this vibrant creative sector.  We’re especially pleased to announce the introduction of our new Young Performer category, which gives us the opportunity to highlight the incredible contribution young people themselves are making to children’s programming.”

The full list of key dates for the British Academy Children’s Awards in 2018 and the new Rules and Guidelines are available at

The British Academy Children’s Awards will take place on Sunday 25 November 2018.


  • Tuesday 5 June – Entries open for Children’s Awards
  • Friday 6 July – Entry deadline (17:00)
  • Thursday 19 July – Voting opens (12:00)
  • Monday 6 August – Voting closes (12:00)
  • Tuesday 23 October – Nominations announced
  • Sunday 25 November – British Academy Children’s Awards


For further information, please contact:

Amanda Hearn at freuds
T 020 3003 6456
E [email protected]


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For advice and inspiration from the best creative minds in working in film, games and television, visit For more, visit