You are here

Children's Awards opens for entries with two new categories in 2019

21 May 2019

BAFTA's Children's Awards opens for entries with two new categories for 2019

  • Entry now open
  • Two new categories announced
  • Ceremony takes place Sunday 1 December 2019

London, 21 May 2019: The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) has today opened entries for the British Academy Children’s Awards, which will take place on Sunday 1 December. Also announced today are two new categories ‘Factual Entertainment’ and ‘Teen’.

The Awards have recognised and celebrated the very best in children’s media since 1996. Following an annual review of the Children’s Awards’ categories, the two new categories have been announced to reflect developments within the industry and the quality and breadth of content now available to young audiences today.

The new Factual Entertainment category reflect the rise in this genre of programming for children and is open to entries from shows which cleverly revise recurring themes and programme behaviours to deliver factual content in an engaging way, yet are primarily entertainment based.

The British Academy Children’s Awards celebrate content for children aged 16 and under, and the new Teen category has been introduced to showcase programming created for the traditionally under-served 12-16 age group. This is open to both British and internationally commissioned content that specifically deals with the experience of transitioning from childhood to adulthood.

Emma Baehr, BAFTA’s Director of Awards, said: “BAFTA has been recognising the very best in children’s programming for over 20 years, so it’s important for us that our awards keep pace with the evolving industry. Our two new categories are a positive addition to the ceremony, and we encourage content makers from across the industry to enter our awards and be part of the UK’s biggest celebration of children’s media.”

The full list of key dates for the British Academy Children’s Awards in 2019 and the new categories, rules and guidelines are available at

The British Academy Children’s Awards will take place on Sunday 1 December 2019.


  • Monday 20 May - BAFTA Awards Entry Site opens (
  • Friday 21 June - Entry deadline (17:00)
  • Tuesday 9 July - Voting opens (12:00)
  • Wednesday 31 July - Voting closes (12:00)
  • Tuesday 22 October - Nominations announced
  • Sunday 1 December - British Academy Children’s Awards

For further information, please contact:

Nick Williams

T 020 7292 5847

E [email protected]



The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For advice and inspiration from the best creative minds in working in film, games and television, visit For more, visit