You are here

Children's Award Winners Announced

30 November 2009
Richard Hammond, winner of Presenter of the Year with citation reader, Gemma Bissix.BAFTA / Brian Ritchie

The winners of the EA British Academy Children's Awards have been announced at a ceremony in the London Hilton Hotel.

Richard Hammond wins the Presenter Award

A record-breaking 425,000 votes for the BAFTA Kid’s Vote, with children voting for Hannah Montana as their favourite in both Feature Film & Television categories

The EA British Academy Children’s Awards took place on Sunday 29 November, celebrating the very best in Children’s Entertainment over the last year. A stellar line-up of presenters included Myleene Klass, Camilla Dallerup, Jason Isaacs, Idris Elba, Bonnie Wright and Michelle Ryan who joined hosts Dick and Dom at the London Hilton on Park Lane.

Children’s favourite petrol-head, Richard Hammond, fought off stiff competition to collect the iconic mask in the Presenter category for CBBC’s Richard Hammond’s Blast Lab.

The BAFTA Kid’s Vote gave children a chance to have their say across a range of entertainment media, and attracted over twice as many votes as last year, with children voting online for their favourite Feature Film, Television programme, Video Game and Website. Hannah Montana was their clear favourite for Film and Television, Wii Sports Resort was their winning video game and Club Penguin was voted as the top Website.

Bernard Cribbins collected the Special Award for outstanding creative contribution to the industry from his Doctor Who co-star, Catherine Tate.

Other winners on the night included Nick Jr. UK for Channel of the Year and S4C’s Rhestr Nadolig Wil (Wil’s Christmas List) for Drama. Coraline picked up the Award for Feature Film while The Penguins of Madagascar won the International Award. LittleBigPlanet won for Video Game, and in the pre-school categories, Bookaboo won the Live Action Award and Ben and Holly’s Little Kingdom collected the mask for Pre-School Animation. Helen Blakeman won the Writer Award for her adaptation of the best-selling Jacqueline Wilson novel, Dustbin Baby.

CBBC Me and My Movie in association with BAFTA, is a competition giving children the chance to create their very own original two-minute film, and this year’s winner was 14 year old Lauren for her film Vern’s Vacation.

BAFTA Chief Executive, Amanda Berry OBE, said:

“This year’s EA British Academy Children’s Awards has proved that the quality of children’s entertainment remains incredibly high. We are thrilled to recognise such a wide range of children’s programming, and it is wonderful that in one ceremony we can recognise the breakthrough talent of Adam Shaw at Blue Zoo, who represents the very best of British animation, and at the same time honour Bernard Cribbins, whose legendary career spanning six decades, from Jackanory and The Railway Children to Doctor Who, and continues to enthral children to this day.”

For further information, please contact:

Romley Davies Publicity
Zoe Baldwin - E: [email protected] / T: 0203 3014733
Vanessa Davies - E: [email protected] / T: 0203 301 4731