You are here

BAFTA honours ITV’s ‘This Morning’ with Special Award

5 September 2018
Joel Anderson © ITV

British daytime television programme celebrated with Tribute event and presentation of the award in its 30th year

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) will honour This Morning with a Tribute event and a Special Award next month. The news was revealed live on air by presenters Holly Willoughby and Phillip Schofield on today’s programme.

The honour will be given to This Morning, ITV’s long-running British daytime TV programme that turns 30 this year, in recognition of the continuing success of its creative and innovative approach to daytime television production; of its popular appeal among the British TV-viewing public; and for it launching the careers of many of those working in the factual entertainment genre today. It is also being given in recognition of programme’s contribution to the development of the television production hub in the north west when it was produced at its original home at the Granada Studio on Albert Dock, Liverpool.

Holly Willoughby, Phillip Schofield, Richard Madeley and Judy Finnigan will be guest speakers at the Tribute at BAFTA on Monday 1 October where they will share insights from This Morning in front of an audience of peers, industry and public, including cast and crew from the show.  The Tribute event will celebrate the history of the programme with contributions from talent involved with the show over the past 30 years, archive clips, special video interviews and, finally, the presentation of the Special Award. The event will be filmed and made available on BAFTA’s website as part of the charity’s commitment to educating and inspiring new generations of practitioners, and celebrating the very best in our creative industry.

Jane Beacon and Clare Ely, Heads of ITV Daytime, said: "It is a huge honour for This Morning to receive this special BAFTA award during its 30th year, and we feel immensely proud of the whole team for this well-deserved recognition within the industry."  

Krishnendu Majumdar, Chair of BAFTA’s Television Committee said: “For 30 years, the talent, innovation and boldness of This Morning has made it an exceptional contribution to television. BAFTA is delighted to be recognising the programme’s achievements at a special tribute event and wish it every continued success”

This Morning is ITV’s live, two-hour show that launched on 3 October 1988 from Albert Dock in Liverpool. It was first hosted by husband and wife team Richard Madeley and Judy Finnigan to deliver a mix of topical news, showbiz and lifestyle content. 

Currently presented by Phillip Schofield and Holly Willoughby (Monday-Thursday) and Eamonn Holmes OBE and Ruth Langsford (Friday), the show has grown a loyal following, winning multiple awards and broken boundaries for British television – for instance, performing live medical checks. It continues to deliver ground-breaking campaigns and exclusive interviews into its third decade, making it the longest running daytime programme for the channel and propelling it as a national institution for British television and its audience.  

The programme currently broadcasts from Studio 3 at Television Centre, having moved from The London Studios on Southbank in early 2018. It is edited by Martin Frizell with Emma Gormley as Executive Producer and Managing Director for ITV Studios Daytime.

Previous BAFTA nominations


Television Craft Awards, Digital Creativity 2014

Television Craft Awards, Digital Creativity 2012

Television Craft Awards, Digital Creativity 2011

Television Awards, Talk Show 1996

Other industry recognition

Previous Awards

Win: National Television Awards, Most Popular Daytime Show 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2018

Win: National Television Awards, Most Popular Topical Magazine Programme 2011

Win: National Television Awards, Most Popular Factual Programme 2012

Win: National Television Awards, Best Live Magazine Show 2016, 2017

Win: TV Quick Awards, Best Daytime Viewing 2003, 2004

Win: TV Times Awards, Favourite Daytime Programme 2010, 2011

Win: TRIC Awards, Best TV Daytime Programme 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017

Win: Freesat Awards, Best Live Programme 2012

Win: Transgender Awards, Best Daytime Programme 2014, 2015, 2016

Win: TV Choice Awards, Best Daytime Show 2016, 2017

Nomination: Royal Television Society Programme Awards, Daytime Programme 2016

Nomination: Diversity in Media Awards, TV Moment of the Year 2017

For further information and interview requests please contact:

BAFTA : Jonaid Jilani at [email protected] or 020 7292 5863

ITV: Sarah Hitching at [email protected] or 020 7157 4150 | Mob: 07795 302 079

Archival video footage from This Morning can be found here

Photos can be found at - please contact [email protected] for access 

Photos are also available from ITV from Peter Gray 

Tel: 0207 157 3046 [email protected]

Tickets for the Tribute at BAFTA for This Morning (Monday 1 October) will be available from 12pm on Friday 7th September at

For accreditation, photography, press releases and transcripts visit:


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For advice and inspiration from the best creative minds in working in film, games and television, visit For more, visit