You are here

BAFTA announces the winners of the 2023 BAFTA Games Awards

30 March 2023
  • God of War Ragnarök wins five BAFTAs, with stars Christopher Judge and Laya DeLeon Hayes winning Performer in a Leading Role and Performer in a Supporting Role respectively
  • Vampire Survivors wins two BAFTAs for Best Game and Game Design
  • Elden Ring and Tunic win two BAFTAs each
  • Rollerdrome wins BAFTA for British Game
  • Shuhei Yoshida receives the BAFTA Fellowship
  • God of War Ragnarök wins the EE Game of the Year – voted by the British public

View the full list of winners

The winners of the 2023 BAFTA Games Awards were announced tonight in a ceremony hosted by Frankie Ward at Southbank Centre's Queen Elizabeth Hall and livestreamed on Twitch.  The awards celebrate the very best games of the past year and the people who made them, and showcase a wide range of storytelling and creative excellence from the UK and worldwide.  The Twitch livestream show, hosted by Julia Hardy and Inel Tomlinson, brought players from around the world closer to the awards action.  

God of War Ragnarök won five BAFTAs: Animation; Audio Achievement; Music; Performer in a Leading Role for Christopher Judge and Performer in a Supporting Role for Laya DeLeon Hayes.

Vampire Survivors won two BAFTAs: Best Game and Game Design.

Elden Ring won two BAFTAs: Multiplayer and Original Property.

Tunic won two BAFTAs: Artistic Achievement and Debut Game.

Rollerdrome won British Game.

Final Fantasy XIV Online won Evolving Game; Kirby and the Forgotten Land won Family; Endling – Extinction is Forever, a game about climate change and the survival of a family of foxes, won Game Beyond Entertainment, the category for games with a social purpose.

Immortality won Narrative; Horizon Forbidden West won Technical Achievement.

The BAFTA Fellowship was presented to Shuhei Yoshida. The Fellowship is the highest accolade given by BAFTA in recognition of an individual’s outstanding and exceptional contribution to film, games or television across their career.

The EE Game of the Year, the only award voted for by the public, went to God of War Ragnarök.

All winners were in attendance and accepted their awards on stage.

BAFTA is a leading arts charity that marks its 76th anniversary this year. Through its Awards, it recognises and celebrates creative excellence in film, games and television and aims to inspire the next generation of talented people, no matter who they are or where they come from. BAFTA discovers and supports talent with a focus on removing barriers to opportunity through its year-round learning and development programme of events and initiatives. Find out more at

The Games Awards are supported by BAFTA’s Official Games Partners: Epic Games, PlayStation and Xbox, with EE sponsoring the Game of the Year Award, the only award voted for by the public. Find out more at

The BAFTA Games Awards is part of the London Games Festival, which runs from 29 March to 8 April online and at in-person venues. Find out more at

Media Enquiries


Nick Williams 
[email protected]

[email protected] 

Notes to Editors  
Information on photography and media clips can be found at


BAFTA – the British Academy of Film and Television Arts - is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For more, visit BAFTA is a registered charity (no. 216726).