You are here

BAFTA announces Breakthrough Brits of 2018

1 November 2018
Event: Breakthrough Brits Photo ShootDate: Saturday 6 & Sunday 7 October 2018Venue: BAFTA, 195 Piccadilly, London-Area: Group ShotsBAFTA/Phil Fisk

Nineteen breakthrough talents in film, games and television revealed in partnership with Burberry

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) has announced 2018’s BAFTA Breakthrough Brits, in partnership with Burberry – Nineteen of the UK’s most promising future stars of film, games and television.

This year’s honourees will be celebrated at a reception attended by leading figures in the creative industries on Wednesday 7 November, taking place at 194 Piccadilly, an exciting new event space underneath the home of BAFTA.

Breakthrough Brits is BAFTA's flagship initiative that identifies and supports the next generation of British creative talent. Selected by a jury of industry experts after a UK-wide open call for nominations and applications, the 2018 Breakthrough Brits will be supported by BAFTA over the next 12 months as they progress their careers.

Since the launch of the initiative in 2013, previous Breakthrough Brits have gone on to be recognised at BAFTA’s awards ceremonies, including 2018 BAFTA winners Molly Windsor (Leading Actress for Three Girls); Daisy May Cooper (Female Performance for This Country) and Tom Davis (Comedy Entertainment Programme for Murder in Successville). Also in 2018, 2016 Breakthrough Brit honouree Florence Pugh was nominated for the 2018 EE Rising Star Award. Other previous Breakthrough Brits include composer Segun Akinola (Doctor Who), actress Letitia Wright (Black Panther), actor Alex Lawther (Imitation Game) and 2017 EE Rising star winner, actor Tom Holland (Spider-man: Homecoming).

The full list of BAFTA Breakthrough Brits in 2018 are:

Adrienne Law – Games Producer
Annie Price – Presenter
Chris Walley – Actor
Daniel Kokotajlo – Writer/Director
Daniel Lawrence Taylor – Actor/Writer
Ellena Wood – Director
Fodhla Cronin O’Reilly – Producer
Harry Nesbitt – Artist and Game Developer
Jay Armstrong – Game Developer
Jessica Barden – Actress
John Campbell and Katie Goode – Technical Director & Creative Director
Lucy Cohen – Writer/Director
Luisa Omielan –  Comedian
Lottie Bevan – Co-Founder & COO
Michael Pearce – Director
Paapa Essiedu – Actor
Ria Zmitrowicz – Actress
Vanessa Whyte – Cinematographer

This year’s Breakthrough Brits jury members included actress and producer Gemma Arterton (EE Rising Star nominee in 2011), actress Stacy Martin (BAFTA Breakthrough Brit in 2014), actor George MacKay (EE Rising Star nominee in 2014), and composer Nainita Desai (BAFTA Breakthrough Brit in 2016).

BAFTA and Burberry share a joint vision of celebrating emerging British talent and giving them the tools to develop their skills at the start of their careers. Alongside one-to-one mentoring and guidance sessions, honourees also receive free access to BAFTA events for 12 months and networking opportunities in the UK and internationally.

Figures who have given support to the 2017 Breakthrough Brits in the past year include: actress Tilda Swinton, actor and producer Brad Pitt, game designer and developer Brenda Romero, actress Oliva Colman, director Tom Harper and game designer Tim Schafer.

Amanda Berry OBE, Chief Executive of BAFTA, said: “We are delighted to announce our 2018 Breakthrough Brits, hugely talented individuals from a range of backgrounds at a pivotal stage in their careers.  As Breakthrough Brits reaches its sixth year, it is wonderful to see what our previous Breakthrough Brits have gone on to achieve, and I am so excited to see, with BAFTA’s support, guidance and mentorship, what our 2018 honourees will do next.”

For more information about BAFTA Breakthrough Brits, in partnership with Burberry, go to:

This year’s honourees will also be accommodated by Bulgari London Hotel, Official Hotel Partner to the event, and chauffeured by Audi UK, BAFTA’s Official Car Partner.

– Ends –

Notes to Editors:

Biographies of the 2018 Breakthrough Brits are available here

A full list of the Breakthrough Brits jurors in 2018 is available here


A selection of press imagery is available from BAFTA’s online photo library :

Rex/Shutterstock – will cover all events and will have a broader range of material available via their website

Camera Press – holds all of BAFTA portraiture for exclusive placement – including Breakthrough Brits 2018.

For further information, please contact:
Molly Whitehall at WDW Communications
E: [email protected]
T: 0203 432 5839


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For advice and inspiration from the best creative minds in working in film, games and television, visit For more, visit

About Burberry

Founded in 1856, Burberry is a global luxury brand with a distinctive British identity.
The brand has built a reputation for design, innovation and craftsmanship, best expressed through the iconic Burberry trench coat and iconic Scottish-woven cashmere scarves.