You are here

Attendees confirmed for British Academy Cymru Awards

8 October 2019

Nominees and Citation Readers attending confirmed for Cymru Awards on 13 October, including Iwan Rheon and C3PO actor Anthony Daniels

New for 2019: Watch the backstage interviews with winners live on BAFTA Cymru’s Facebook page


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts in Wales, BAFTA Cymru, has today revealed the names of some of the nominees, presenters and other special guest attendees for this Sunday’s British Academy Cymru Awards, which is taking place at the St David’s Hall in Cardiff, Wales on 13 October.

Once again this year a host of famous faces are set to grace the red carpet for the 28th BAFTA Cymru ceremony, which honours excellence in performance and production within film, games and television in Wales.

DJ and presenter Huw Stephens returns to host the ceremony for the fifth time, while also receiving a nomination for his presenting of feature documentary Anorac.

Those expected to grace the red carpet include, but are not limited to, Ruth Jones (Gavin and Stacey, Stella), Joanna Scanlan (No Offence, Requiem, The Accident), Craig Roberts (Horrible Histories: Rotten Romans, Just Jim, Submarine), Edward Bluemel (Killing Eve, A Discovery of Witches) and Jessica Hynes (Years and Years, The Royle Family).

Other guests will include actors Cath Ayers (Keeping Faith, Byw Celwydd), Gwyneth Keyworth (Hidden, Bang, Black Mirror), Nia Roberts (Pili Pala, Bang, 35 Diwrnod), Suzanne Packer (Stella, Casualty, Keeping Faith) and Jacob Ifan (Bang, Discovery of Witches).

Trystan Gravelle (Baptiste, Mr Selfridge), Rakie Ayola (Shetland, No Offence), comedian Tudur Owen, Morfydd Clark (Dracula, His Dark Materials, Patrick Melrose) will join Gwilym Lee (Bohemian Rhapsody, Jamestown) to present awards.

Guests will be treated to a live performance from North Walian singer/songwriter Casi Wyn. Jo Hartley (This is England, Eddie the Eagle, In My Skin), actor/first time director Tom Cullen (Downton Abbey, Knightfall) and presenters Emma Walford and Trystan Elis Morris (Priodas Pum Mil) will attend to support nominations.

Acting nominees attending include Celyn Jones (Manhunt), Gabrielle Creevy (In My Skin), Jodie Whittaker (Doctor Who) and Eiry Thomas (Enid a Lucy) Sian Gibson (Peter Kay’s Car Share).

Other nominees across craft and performance categories and guests include, but are not limited to, writers Andrew Davies (Les Miserables), Fflur Dafydd (35 Awr), Owen Sheers (NHS: To Provide all People) and Russell T Davies (A Very English Scandal).

Production Designers Arwel Wyn Jones (Doctor Who), Catryn Meredydd (Black Mirror: Bandersnatch), James North (A Discovery of Witches) and Thomas Pearce (Apostle) will also be attending.

The Special Award recipients for 2019 have been announced as executive producer Bethan Jones (War and Peace, Les Miserables), who will receive her award from Games of Thrones actor Iwan Rheon and Executive Vice President of Lucasfilm, Lynwen Brennan who will receive her award from C3PO actor Anthony Daniels.

The ceremony will be streamed live once again the BAFTA Cymru Facebook and YouTube. Those unable to attend and watch arrivals will also be able to watch coverage from the red carpet from 6:00pm, presented once again by Elin Fflur, who is also nominated for her recent documentary about IVF.

24 programme, craft and performance categories feature in the annual British Academy Cymru Awards, honouring excellence in broadcasting and production within film and television in Wales during the period 1 April 2018 and 31 March 2019.

Hannah Raybould, Director of BAFTA Cymru said. ““The calibre and breadth of the nominees represented at this year’s British Academy Cymru Awards is a fantastic representation of the health of the games and television industry in Wales at the moment.

This year we have used our awards period to celebrate the links our nominees have with all parts of the country – from Holyhead and Aberdaron to Carmarthen and Abergavenny – to encourage those from all backgrounds and parts of Wales to be inspired by their creativity and consider roles in our thriving industry.”

Members of the public are invited to join nominees and industry professionals at this year’s awards. Awards tickets are available for the Champagne reception, ceremony and after party at the newly-refurbished Radisson Blu Hotel priced at £98.

Event sponsors and partners have been confirmed as AB Acoustics, Aberystwyth University, Audi UK, Bad Wolf, BBC Cymru Wales, Bluestone Brewery, Buzz Magazine, Capital Law, Cardiff Council, Champagne Taittinger, Channel 4, Clarins, Cuebox, Da Mhile Gin, Deloitte, DRESD, EE, Elstree Light and Power, Gorilla, Iceland, ITV Wales, Ken Picton Salon, Mad Dog 2020 Casting, Radisson Blu, San Pellegrino/Acqua Panna, S4C, St Davids Hall, Taylor Bloxham, The Social Club, Agency, Trosol, University of South Wales, University of Wales Trinity Saint David, Villa Maria, Waterstone Homes, Welsh Government, Working Word and Yr Egin.

Tickets can be purchased from until Friday 11 October at 12pm.


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For advice and inspiration from the best creative minds in working in film, games and television, visit For more, visit