You are here

Sylvia Syms OBE

6 January 1934 to 27 January 2023

A British actress and three-time BAFTA nominee for her performances in Woman in a Dressing Gown (1957), No Trees in the Street (1959) and The Tamarind Seed (1974). After graduating from RADA, Sylvia Syms made a series of notable British films over a decade, including My Teenage Daughter (1956), Ice Cold in Alex (1958), Expresso Bongo (1959), Conspiracy of Hearts, (1960), Victim (1961) and The Punch and Judy Man (1963), among others. She worked mostly in television or on the stage for the rest of her career, but did land supporting roles in Shirley Valentine (1989), Shining Through (1992) and as the Queen Mother in The Queen (2006). Her extensive TV work included My Good Woman (1972-1974), Peak Practice (1993-1995), At Home with the Braithwaites (2000-2003), Collision (2009) and, most recently, Gentlemen Jack (2019). Syms was appointed OBE in 2007.

Read Sylvia Syms' Guardian obituary

Read Sylvia Syms' Telegraph obituary

Read Sylvia Syms' BFI obituary

Read Sylvia Syms' Times obituary