You are here

Fay Weldon CBE

22 September 1931 to 4 January 2023

A British screenwriter and novelist, who wrote more than 30 novels and multiple television scripts, across a career spanning 50 years. Fay Weldon’s screenwriting career began in the 1960s by penning stories for such anthology series as ITV’s Play of the Week (1966-1967), Armchair Theatre (1967-1971) and Playhouse (1968-1972) and the BBC’s Thirty-Minute Theatre (1966-1972) and The Wednesday Play (1967-1969). She also wrote episodes for such hit series as Upstairs, Downstairs (1971-1973) and Pride and Prejudice (1980). Her best known novel, The Life and Loves of a She-Devil, was adapted into a television mini-series in 1986 and won three BAFTAs, and was later adapted into a film, She-Devil (1989). Screen adaptations of her novels The Cloning of Joanna May (1992), The President’s Child (1992) and Puffball: The Devil’s Eyeball (2007) followed. She was appointed CBE in 2001.

Read Fay Weldon's Guardian obituary

Read Fay Weldon's Independent obituary

Read Fay Weldon's BBC obituary

Read Fay Weldon's Telegraph obituary

Read Fay Weldon's Writers' Guild of Great Britain obituary

Read Fay Weldon's Times obituary