You are here

Jury Meets To Decide the 2016 EE Rising Star Nominees

5 November 2015

An expert film jury including BAFTA winners Jonathan Ross and Olivia Colman met at BAFTA 195 Piccadilly to decide the shortlist for the 2016 EE Rising Star.

EE Rising Star Jury

On 4 November 2015, the jury for the EE Rising Star Award met to whittle down their shortlist and decide who will be nominated for the publicly voted award in next year's ceremony. 

Beginning in 2006, the EE Rising Star Award is the only award voted for by the public.

Next year's ceremony will see the eleventh Rising Star revealed, with previous recipients including James McAvoy, Eva Green, Shia LaBeoufNoel ClarkeKristen Stewart, Tom Hardy, Adam DeaconJuno TempleWill Poulter and Jack O'Connell

Event: EE British Academy Film AwardsDate: Sun 8 February 2015Venue: Royal Opera HouseHost: Stephen Fry-Area: PRESS ROOM

Jonathan Ross and Olivia ColmanNathan Gallagher

I feel very privileged to be sitting on the jury panel for the EE Rising Star Award – it’s so important to have a category that recognises up and coming talent.

Olivia Colman

The panel included a host of leading industry experts including TV personality Jonathan Ross OBE, actress Olivia Colman, The Imitation Game casting director Nina Gold and Four Weddings and a Funeral director Mike Newell, alongside a group of esteemed film journalists. 

The EE Rising Star nominees will be announced on Wednesday 6 January, when public voting will be opened and available to all UK residents.