You are here

AMPAS’ Foreign Language Film Award

BAFTA is the organisation appointed by AMPAS (the American Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences) to select the UK’s submission for consideration for the International Feature Film Award at the Oscars.

BAFTA's selection for 2024 is:

The Zone of Interest (Jonathan Glazer)

British films previously submitted to AMPAS for this category include Winners (Hassan Nazer), Dying to Divorce (Chloe Fairweather), The Boy Who Harnessed The Wind (Chiwetel Ejiofor), I Am Not A Witch (Rungano Nyoni), My Pure Land (Sarmad Masud), Under the Shadow (Babak Anvari) and Metro Manila (Sean Ellis).

How films are selected

Any British film (feature, documentary or animation) that has predominantly (more than 51%) non-English language dialogue and released theatrically between 1 December 2022, and no later than 31 October 2023, and be first publicly exhibited for at least seven consecutive days in a commercial motion picture theater for the profit of the producer and exhibitor.

For films to meet theatrical exhibition requirements more easily, AMPAS will allow films to qualify outside the country of origin, provided the film is theatrically exhibited outside of the United States and its territories for at least seven consecutive days in a commercial motion picture theater for paid admission.

Filmmakers, members, distributors, industry and the public are invited to contact the Selection Committee (via [email protected]) with information about titles which may be eligible.

All eligible films will be watched by all members of the UK Selection Committee (who are members or representatives of BAFTA’s Film Committee), who then attend a selection committee meeting to discuss all of the eligible titles, select a shortlist and, by secret ballot, vote for film which will be submitted. The Head of Film will then notify AMPAS and contact the successful filmmakers or their representatives and put them in contact with AMPAS to complete the entry by the deadline of 2 October 2023.

The rules for the Academy Awards is available on the AMPAS website here.