You are here

British Academy Television Craft Awards in 2014: 
Winners Announced

27 April 2014
Editing Factual Winner Mark Towns with Lynda Bellingham

The winners of the British Academy Television Craft Awards in 2014 have been announced at a glittering ceremony held at The Brewery in London.

  • Peaky Blinders wins two BAFTAs
  • Doctor Who 50th anniversary specials, Doctor Who: The Day Of The Doctor and An Adventure In Space And Time, both win awards
  • Graham Linehan receives fifth BAFTA of career
  • Strictly come dancing receives Special Award

London, 27 April 2014: The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) has announced the winners of tonight’s British Academy Television Craft Awards, celebrating the very best behind-the-scenes talent in British television of the past year. The ceremony was hosted by Stephen Mangan at The Brewery, City of London for the second year running where presenters included Lennie James, Kara Tointon, Emilia Fox, Arthur Darvill, Patsy Palmer, Victoria Wood and Reece Shearsmith.

Reaffirming the strength and depth of talent working in the British television industry today, a wide range of outstanding television was recognised across the awards with no single programme dominating the ceremony.

Historical gangster epic Peaky Blinders received two BAFTAs, one for Otto Bathurst, winning the award for Director: Fiction, and one for George Steel, winning for Photography & Lighting: Fiction.

An Adventure in Space and Time, based on the early years of Doctor Who, took home the BAFTA for Make Up & Hair Design, while 50th anniversary special Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor won for Special, Visual & Graphic Effects.

Two giants of Saturday night television were triumphant in the face of stiff competition: The X Factor’s Phil Heyes won his second BAFTA for Director: Multi-Camera and Ant & Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway won the award for Entertainment Craft Team.

BAFTA’s Writer awards continue to recognise newcomers and veterans alike, with Dominic Mitchell – named a ‘BAFTA Breakthrough Brit’ in 2013 – winning the Writer: Drama award for his debut work on In The Flesh and multi-BAFTA winner Graham Linehan taking home the Writer: Comedy award for The IT Crowd, Linehan’s second win for the series and the fifth BAFTA of his career.

Two of the year’s most popular programmes – Broadchurch and Educating Yorkshire –received BAFTAs for Original Music and Editing: Factual respectively. At next month’s Arqiva British Academy Television Awards, the two programmes will be up against four others – Breaking Bad, Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor, Gogglebox and The Great British Bake Off – in competition for the Radio Times Audience Award, the only publicly-voted award at the ceremony. Voting for the Audience Award is now open at

BAFTA continues to shine a spotlight on the very best emerging talent in the industry with its Breakthrough Talent Award, won this year by Daniel Fajemisin-Duncan and Marlon Smith, writers of the four-part London drama Run, starring Olivia Colman and Lennie James.

Historical dramas achieved success across a number of categories with Downton Abbey, Ripper Street and Dancing on the Edge winning BAFTAs for Costume Design, Production Design and Sound: Fiction respectively. Caroline McCall’s win in Costume Design takes Downton Abbey’s overall BAFTA tally to three.

Other award winners included D-Day: As It Happens for Digital Creativity, The Murder Trial for Director: Factual, Rebuilding the World Trade Center for Photography: Factual, David Bowie – Five Years for Sound: Factual and The Fall, starring Gillian Anderson and Jamie Dornan, for Editing: Fiction.

In recognition of consistently outstanding creative and technical achievement, the Special Award was presented to the much-loved and phenomenally successful entertainment programme, Strictly Come Dancing. First broadcast in 2004 and recently completing its eleventh series, Strictly Come Dancing has set new standards for talent and creativity in the craft of studio entertainment both in the UK and around the world. The Award was presented by dancer Anton du Beke and former contestant and winner Kara Tointon, and collected on behalf of the production team by series director Nikki Parsons.

Exclusive red carpet highlights, backstage interviews with the winners, ceremony highlights and photography are available on the BAFTA website: British Academy Television Craft Awards

See the full list of winners >

Further Information

For further information, please contact freud:

Dan Maynard / Amy Dowd / Nick Baxter
T: 0203 003 6649 / 552 / 658
E: [email protected] / [email protected] / [email protected]


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts is an independent charity that supports, develops and promotes the art forms of the moving image by identifying and rewarding excellence, inspiring practitioners and benefiting the public. In addition to its Awards ceremonies, BAFTA has a year-round Learning & Events programme that offers unique access to some of the world’s most inspiring talent through workshops, masterclasses, lectures, scholarships and mentoring schemes, connecting with audiences of all ages and backgrounds across the UK, Los Angeles and New York. BAFTA relies on income from membership subscriptions, individual donations, trusts, foundations and corporate partnerships to support its ongoing outreach work. For further information, visit and