You are here

Press Releases

Event: BAFTA Mask Photo ShootDate: 7 February 2008Venue: BAFTA, 195 Piccadilly -

BAFTA announces 900 new members joining since 2020

17 March 2022

Actors Vanessa Kirby, Brad Pitt and Micheal Ward, directors Waad Al-Kateab and Lulu Wang, games composer Woody Jackson and writer Phoebe Waller-Bridge are among those who have recently joined BAFTA’s global membership 

BAFTA ‘Connect’ - the new tier of membership for those at an earlier stage of their career – opens today as part of BAFTA’s drive for a more inclusive, open membership 

Event: 2022 EE British Academy Film AwardsDate: Sunday 13th March 2022Venue: Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Gore, South Kensington, London Host: Rebel Wilson-Area: Backstage

British Public Crowns Lashana Lynch winner of the EE Rising Star Award at the 2022 EE British Academy Film Awards

13 March 2022
  • Lashana Lynch takes home the prestigious EE Rising Star Award at the 2022 EE British Academy Film Awards
  • Lady Gaga made her debut at the film awards ceremony, introducing this year’s coveted award, which was then presented by 2021 EE Rising Star Award winner Bukky Bakray at the Royal Albert Hall
  • The 2022 nominees are: Ariana DeBose, Harris Dickinson, Lashana Lynch, Millicent Simmonds and Kodi Smit-McPhee
  • 2022 marks the 17th year of the EE Rising Star Award - the only award voted for by the public
  • Previous winners include Bukky Bakray, Micheal Ward, Letitia Wright, Tom Holland, John Boyega, Jack O’Connell, Will Poulter, Tom Hardy, Kristen Stewart, and Eva Green
Event: Portraits of the 2022 Breakthrough India Honourees-

BAFTA unveils its Breakthrough India participants for 2022

9 March 2022
  •  Introducing 10 ‘must watch’ creatives from regions across the country
  •  The new cohort will benefit from professional development and international networking opportunities provided by BAFTA and supported by Netflix
  • Breakthrough participants selected by cross-industry global jury of industry experts including Apurva Asrani, Anupam Kher, AR Rahman Ratna Pathak Shah and Shonali Bose