You are here

Arthur Schmidt

17 June 1937 to 5 August 2023

An American film editor, who won two Oscars for Robert Zemeckis’ Forrest Gump (1994) and Who Framed Roger Rabbit (1988), which were also BAFTA nominated alongside Back to the Future (1985). Arthur Schmidt worked with Zemeckis on 10 films, including all three Back to the Future films (1985-1990), Cast Away (2000) and Death Becomes Her (1992). Other notable work included Coal Miner’s Daughter (1980), Ruthless People (1986), The Last of the Mohicans (1992), The Rocketeer (1991), The Birdcage (1996) and Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (2003).

Read Variety on Arthur Schmidt

Read The Hollywood Reporter on Arthur Schmidt

Read Arthur Schmidt's A.frame obituary