You are here

GSA BAFTA Student Awards

Submissions for the 2021 GSA BAFTA Student Awards are now open. 

This year, for the first time, we are introducing awards for Games and Immersive, in addition to our regular slate of awards for Film. 


Email us if you are interested in learning more about the program, or if you are interested in submitting in 2021. 

The GSA BAFTA Student Awards is an annual event celebrating the works of the next generation of talented and innovative storytellers from around the globe.

We ask schools to submit their best work and members of BAFTA review the submissions and select the best entrants over the course of three rounds of voting. 

In the process, we connect the students who participate with the wealth of expertise represented by the BAFTA membership, and provide a showcase for the industry to uncover the latest global talent. 

To strengthen the connection with BAFTA and to support the transition into the industry, we program events throughout the life of the competition.

We are incredibly grateful to Global Student Accommodation (GSA), our title partners for the Student Awards. GSA creates spaces to grow for university students by developing, managing and investing in student accommodation across a growing footprint of the world’s top university cities. Students can find a welcoming home away from home at GSA communities in cities across Australia, UAE, China, Germany, Ireland, Japan, Spain and the U.K. With their international reach and their student-centric ethos, they are the perfect partners for our student competition. 


The Competition

Event: BAFTA Student Film Awards presented by Global Student Accommodation Date: Tuesday 9 July 2019Venue: The Eli and Edythe Broad Stage, 1310 11th St, Santa Monica-Area: Press RoomGetty Images for BAFTA LA

Featuring an evening of student projects selected by a panel of industry professionals, BAFTA members are invited to select the best titles on the night in the categories of animation, live action, and documentary, each of which receives the BAFTA Student Award. A Special Jury comprised of entertainment industry luminaries also recognizes a film with the Special Jury Prize.  Previously limited to schools of the US, in 2017, for the first time the event expanded to include schools from around the world. Click here to learn more about the Student Awards competition!

The Programming

SFA Masterclass

Our Student Awards finalists are often invited to Los Angeles to participate in a number of events and programs designed to expose and introduce them to industry professionals. In addition, those who are shortlisted, reach the finals, or receive awards as part of the BAFTA Student Awards are given opportunities to participate in BAFTA's global New Talent programs.  Click here to learn more about the Student Awards Programming!




Event: BAFTA Student Film AwardsDate: Friday 29 June 2018 Venue: Theatre, Ace Hotel , Los Angeles-Getty Images for BAFTA LA

BAFTA-GSA Commissioning Grant

The BAFTA-GSA Short Film Commissioning Grant provides a cash award to support further development of a short film project, opportunities to retain expert advisors, and receive overall creative and strategic feedback throughout the life of the project.

As a key part of BAFTA’s mission to discover, inspire and nurture new talent, the BAFTA Student Film Awards celebrates the very best work from film schools around the world and connects outstanding student filmmakers to the wealth of expertise represented by BAFTA’s membership. BAFTA Commissioning Grants will provide the necessary means for great short film projects to either get started or cross the finish line, with an eye to ensuring that talented filmmakers from more diverse backgrounds are able to achieve their vision on screen. In its first year in 2019, Drama Del Rosario and Lola Blanche-Higgins split the $12,000 prize. 

Previous Winners:

2017-2019: BAFTA Student Film Awards



Leó Brunel, Loris Cavalier, Camille Jalabert and Oscar Malet - Hors Piste (Animation) École des Nouvelles Images
Ingrid Holmquist and Sana Malik - Guanajuato Norte (Documentary) Columbia University
Asher Jelinsky - Miller & Son (Live Action) American Film Institute
Rikke Gregersen - Dog Eat Dog (Special Jury Prize) Kristiania University College


Esteban Bravo & Beth David - In A Heartbeat (Animation) Ringling College of Design
Kevin Wilson Jr. - My Nephew Emmett  (Live Action) NYU's Tisch School of the Arts
Lindsey Parietti - Blood Island (Documentary) University of the West of England
Lucia Bulgheroni - Inanimate (Special Jury Prize) National Film & Television School


Alicja Jasina - Once Upon a Line  (Tie - Animation) USC
Kal AthannassovEcho Wu - The Wishgranter  (Tie - Animation) Ringling College of Art & Design
Jimmy Keyrouz Nocturne in Black (Live Action) Columbia University
Daphne Matziaraki 4.1 Miles (Documentary & Special Jury Prize) UC Berkley


2014-2016: BAFTA US Student Film Awards



Clara Roquet - El Adiós Columbia University
Seth Boyden - An Object at Rest (Special Jury Prize) CalArts


Henry Hughes - Day One American Film Institute
Zoe Lubeck - Lucy (Special Jury Prize) DePaul University


Annie Silverstein - Skunk (both prizes) UT Austin


2004-2013: BAFTA LA Student Film Awards



Andrej Landin - Into The Silent Sea Chapman University
Patrick Dickinson - Usagi-San (Jury Prize) American Film Institute


Julio Ramos - Una Carrerita, Doctor! UCLA


Lorne Hiltser - Le Jeu Des Soldats American Film Institute


Andrew Spieler - The Response (Tied) American Film Institute
Christina Rubenstein – Unrest  (Tied) American Film Institute


Rob Connelly – Our Neck of the Woods USC


Melanie McGraw – Pit Stop USC


Vineet Dewan – Clear, Cut Simple – (Tied) USC
Danielle Shamash – The Sunday Man  – (Tied) American Film Institute


Adam Parrish King – The Wrath of Cobble Hill USC


Suny Behar – Chaos Theory UCLA


Sharat Raju - American Made American FIlm Institute