You are here

BAFTA announces 2020 Jury members for BAFTA Breakthrough

19 October 2020

Today, we announces the U.S. and U.K Jury members for this year’s BAFTA Breakthrough initiative, supported by Netflix. The leading figures from across film, games and television industries have come together virtually to select this year’s talented recipients.

BAFTA Breakthrough, launched in May 2020, is BAFTA’s flagship global, new talent initiative that showcases and supports the next generation of creative talent in film, games and television. Previously known as Breakthrough Brits, the initiative has been running in the U.K. since 2013 and in China since 2019, but this year marks the first time the initiative is recognizing talent globally across the U.K., U.S., India and China.

This year, BAFTA Breakthrough has selected talent through cross-industry juries of leading industry professionals in both the U.S. and U.K. These global juries took place over the space of a week with industry leaders contributing from across the globe. The initiative will continue to use digital communications in the coming months to enhance cross-cultural networking across the globe. The successful Breakthrough applicants will then receive one-to-one mentoring and career guidance, full voting membership, access to BAFTA events and networking opportunities, both in the U.K. and internationally.

This year’s participants from both the U.S. and U.K. will be announced on Monday, November 16 and all global Breakthrough participants will be celebrated and showcased together in 2021. More details about applications opening in India and China will be announced later this year.

BAFTA Breakthrough, previously known as Breakthrough Brits, has championed over 130 talented newcomers, including actors Letitia Wright, Florence Pugh, Josh O’Connor, Malachi Kirby, Ray Panthaki and Molly Windsor, reality television producer Coco Jackson, composer Segun Akinola, game producer Dan Gray, and directors Rose Glass, Stella Corradi, Destiny Ekaragha and Michael Pearce. Previous Breakthrough alumni have gone on to flourish within their respective disciplines, many becoming BAFTA winners and nominees.

Supporters of the initiative in recent years include actors Olivia Colman, Tilda Swinton, Zawe Ashton, actor-producer Brad Pitt, directors Tom Harper, Barry Jenkins and Asif Kapadia, game designers Brenda Romero and Tim Schafer, actor-writers Sharon Horgan and Amy Schumer.

Netflix is the official supporting partner for BAFTA Breakthrough, in the U.K., U.S. and India, providing integral support in the global expansion. BAFTA and Netflix share a joint vision to celebrate and provide opportunities for emerging talent across the world, bringing together international communities across global networks, in order to develop and support stories and voices from different cultures. BAFTA will work with local cultural bodies in each territory to provide bespoke support within each region’s unique landscape.

Full list of 2020 U.S. Jurors:

Bao Nguyen - Director (Be Water)
Cary Fukunaga - Director (Sin Nombre)
John Romero - Games Developer (Empire of Sin)
Kathryn Busby - Co-Chair | Chair of BAFTA LA and Executive Vice President, Development & Programming, Sony Television/TriStar Television
Laura Bailey - Games Performer (The Last of Us)
Louise Chater – Entertainment Strategist
Maria Ishak - Co-Chair | Chair of BAFTA New York and Senior Vice President, North America Sales, all3media
Mary Ramos - Music Supervisor (Django Unchained)
Nicole Stott - Producer (Boys State)
Paapa Essiedu - Actor (I May Destroy You)
Patrick Connolly – Senior Vice President, Programming and Marketing, AMC Networks

Full list of 2020 U.K. Jurors:

Ade Rawcliffe - Chair | Group Director of Diversity and Inclusion at ITV
Alison Owen - Producer (Saving Mr Banks)
Amma Asante - Filmmaker, screenwriter (A Way Of Life)
Clare Stewart - Festival Director
Dan Grabiner - UK Head of Unscripted at Amazon Studios
Edward Enninful - Editor-In-Chief, British Vogue
Fiona Shaw - Actor (Killing Eve)
Garry Napper - Game Director, Supermassive Games Ltd
Jim Jagger - Director of Animation, Rockstar Games
Jodie Azhar - Games Developer
Kate Townsend - Director, Original Documentary at Netflix
Melissa Johns - Actor (Coronation Street)
Nicole Taylor - Screenwriter (Three Girls)
Rami Ismail - Games Developer (Ridiculous Fishing)
Sara Putt - Craft Agent, Founder of Sara Putt Associates