You are here

Lindy Hemming and Mavis Nicholson to be honoured at 2018 British Academy Cymru Awards

4 October 2018
Special Recipients 2018

BAFTA-nominee and Oscar winner, costume designer Lindy Hemming and acclaimed presenter and broadcaster Mavis Nicholson revealed as Special Award recipients

On 4 October we revealed the Special Award recipients for this year’s British Academy Cymru Awards, taking place on 14 October 2018, as announced at this evening’s BAFTA Cymru Nominees Party.

BAFTA-nominee and Oscar winner, costume designer Lindy Hemming (whose most recent credits include Wonder Woman and Wonder Woman 1984, the Paddington films and Casino Royale) will become the 14th recipient of the Siân Phillips Award.

Hemming, who was born in Carmarthenshire, is being honoured with the award – sponsored by Pinewood – as a Welsh person who has made a significant contribution to international feature filmmaking.

The Siân Phillips Award, selected by the BAFTA Cymru Committee, has previously been awarded to writer Abi Morgan, make-up artist Siân Grigg, director Euros Lyn, actor Rhys Ifans, writer Russel T Davies, actor Michael Sheen, actor Ioan Gruffudd, writer/actress/producer Ruth Jones, actor Rob Brydon, actor Matthew Rhys, actor Robert Pugh, producer Julie Gardner and journalist Jeremy Bowen.

The BAFTA Cymru Special Award for Outstanding Contribution to Television will be presented to acclaimed presenter and broadcaster Mavis Nicholson.

Known to many as the UKs first female chat show host, Mavis, originally from Neath, interviewed celebrities including David Bowie, Margaret Thatcher, Elizabeth Taylor, Lauren Bacall, Nina Simone, Kenneth Williams, Bette Davis, Peter Cook and Dudley Moore in the 1970s-1990s. Her February 1979 interview with David Bowie is widely regarded as one of the best interviews ever conducted with the singer.

Hannah Raybould, Director of BAFTA Cymru, said: “The BAFTA Cymru Committee recognises Lindy Hemming’s significant talent and her huge contribution to such an array of films as the Wonder Woman films, the Dark Knight Trilogy, Paddington 1&2, Harry Potter, Topsy-Turvy, Casino Royale, Four Weddings and a Funeral and many more. 

Her work on The Dark Night, Four Weddings and a Funeral and Porterhouse Blue have earned her BAFTA nominations, while her work on Topsy Turvy earned her an Oscar in 2000.

We are also very much looking forward to celebrating the extensive career of broadcaster and presenter Mavis Nicholson and her status as the first female chat show host in the UK.”

The BAFTA Cymru Nominees Party, at which the announcement was made, celebrates the nominees for the upcoming British Academy Cymru Awards across Welsh film and television production, craft and performance categories.

Individuals and companies representing the nominated productions gathered at the BAFTA Cymru Nominees Party, hosted at the Cornerstone venue and sponsored by Mad Dog 2020 Casting. Guests were treated to food from award-wining Spiros Fine Dining, and champagne from BAFTA partner Champagne Taittinger.

BAFTA Cymru Nominees Party Guests in attendance included actors Amanda Mealing, Mark Lewis Jones and Carys Eleri, costume designers Sarah-Jane Perez (Keeping Faith) and Zoe Howerska (Bang) as well as authors Fflur Dafydd (Parch) and Roger Williams (Bang). Game Award nominees Ben Cawthorne, David Banner and Richard Pring also attended.

Details of the nominees and guests attending the ceremony will be announced during the week of the Awards, to be held on 14 October.

The ceremony will be live streamed to BAFTA Cymru’s Facebook once again this year, with a special viewing events being held by New York Welsh at the Liberty in Manhattan, Galeri in Caernarfon and Yr Egin in Carmarthen sponsored by Iceland. For the second time, BAFTA will also be live-streaming from the red carpet where viewers will be able to hear from guests as they arrive.

Post-production and facilities company Gorilla returns as Key Event Sponsor and returning sponsors and partners have been confirmed as AB Acoustics, Aberystwyth University, Audi UK, Bad Wolf, BBC Cymru Wales, Bluestone Brewery, Buzz Magazine, Capital Law, Cardiff Council, Champagne Taittinger, Channel 4, Clarins, Cuebox, Da Mhile Gin, Deloitte, DRESD, Elstree Light and Power, FOR Cardiff, Genero, Glyndŵr University, Hotel Chocolat, Iceland, ITV Wales, Ken Picton Salon, Mad Dog 2020 Casting, Pinewood, Radisson Blu, San Pellegrino/Acqua Panna, S4C, St Davids Hall, Taylor Bloxham, The Social Club, Agency, Trosol, University of South Wales, University of Wales Trinity Saint David, Villa Maria, Waterstone Homes, Welsh Government, Working Word and Yr Egin.

Members of the public are invited to join nominees and special guests at this year’s awards. A limited number of tickets are still available for the Champagne reception, ceremony at St David’s Hall, Cardiff and after party at the Radisson Blu hotel - priced at £98, which includes a limited-edition Awards brochure.