You are here

BAFTA New York 2016 Scholarship Breakfast

23 September 2016
Rhys Jones, Veronica Austin, Hassan Williams, Sidnei Afari, Lasse Ulvedal Tolboll, Rituparna Das Datta, Ziwei YaoBAFTA/Seton Davey

On September 21, 2016, BAFTA New York announced the 2016 Media Studies Scholarship recipients at a breakfast in New York City hosted by sponsor, Discovery Communications.

This year's Scholars are Rhys Jones and Lasse Ulvedal Tolboll (NYU Tisch Schol of the Arts), Veronica Austin, Hassan Williams, and Sidnei Afari (Brooklyn College), and Ziwei Yao and Rituparna Das Datta (City College of New York).  The Scholars come from as far afield as Harrogate, UK, and Odder, Denmark and as close to home as Brooklyn, NY.

University representatives attending included Miguel Macias, Dr. Katherine Fry, and Stuart MacLelland from Brooklyn College, and Andrea Weiss, Jerry Carlson, and Antonio Tibaldi from CCNY.

Scholarship sponsors attending were Devin Johnson (BBC America), Donald Taffner Jr. and Karen Butler (The Taffner Family Charitable Trust), Jeff Cotugno (DLT Entertainment), Sara Kozak (Discovery Communications), Doug Schwalbe (DreamWorks Animation).

The 2016 scholars were able to meet their sponsors and BAFTA New York management and Committee members, all while enjoying a fabulous breakfast provided by our host.  We were also delighted to welcome three scholars from previous years - Stephen Lorusso, Melisande Bliss and Lucien Follini-Press - each of whom gave a short speech on what their scholarship had meant to them personally, and how it had helped them on their career journey.