You are here

Blade Runner 2049 - Winners' Acceptance Speech, Special Visual Effects, EE British Academy Film Awards in 2018

18 February 2018

Winners' acceptance speech by Richard R Hoover, Paul Lambert and John Nelson for Blade Runner 2049 in the Special Visual Effects category.

JOHN NELSON: Thank you, BAFTA, for this amazing award. The making of this film was really a true labour of love.

Thank you, Denis Villeneuve, for your intensity, and your dedication is seen in every frame of this film, especially the visual effects. Thank you, Ridley Scott, for the original Blade Runner and the inspiration that it provided to all of us.

Thank you to the amazing crews in Budapest and in Los Angeles, and everyone at Alcon, Warner Bros, Sony, especially Andrew Kosove and Broderick Johnson.

Thanks to Roger and James Deakins. Beautiful work, just beautiful. Joe Walker, Dennis Gassner, Karen Murphy, Paul Lambert, Rich Hoover, Gerd Nefzer, Habib Zargarpour, Richard Clegg at MPC. Victor Muller, Pierre Buffin, Sebastian Murrow, Ryan Tudup and the talented artists who made this work at Double Negative Framestore, MPC, BUF, Rodeo, UPP, Atomic Fiction, and Weta Workshop.

The best special effects are not about the amount of technical detail that are in a shot. It's about how it makes you feel emotionally, and you guys have made us feel really great tonight.