You are here

Press Releases

Event: EE Rising Star Nominees Headshots-

Nominees announced for the 2022 EE Rising Star Award ahead of the EE BAFTA Film Awards

1 February 2022

The only category at the EE BAFTAs voted for by the British public

  • The EE Rising Star Award nominees for 2022 are: Ariana DeBose, Harris Dickinson, Lashana Lynch, Millicent Simmonds and Kodi Smit-McPhee
  • Nominees were selected by a panel of industry jurors including BAFTA-winning actor and director Andy Serkis, filmmaker and actress Sadie Frost and Downton Abbey star Michelle Dockery
  • The winner will be announced on Sunday 13th March 2022 at the EE BAFTA Film Awards ceremony on BBC One
  • Celebrating its 17th year, the prestigious EE Rising Star Award is the only category at EE BAFTA Film Awards voted for by the British public and voting is now open at
Event: EE Rising Star Nominations AnnouncementDate: Thursday 3 December 2019Venue: BAFTA, 195 Piccadilly, LondonHost: Edith Bowman-

Andy Serkis, Sadie Frost and Michelle Dockery join the BAFTA EE Rising Star Award jury panel to select the coveted award’s 2022 shortlist

1 December 2021
  • BAFTA-winner Andy Serkis joined filmmaker and actress Sadie Frost and Downton Abbey star Michelle Dockery to select the EE Rising Star Award shortlist for the 2022 EE British Academy Film Awards
  • Chaired by BAFTA Chair, Krishnendu Majumdar, the esteemed jury panel also included casting directors Lucy Bevan (Belfast) and Leo Davis (The Queen) who all met at the recently redeveloped BAFTA headquarters to select this year’s shortlist of young and up-and-coming talent
  • The EE Rising Star Award 2022 celebrates its 17th anniversary with previous winners including Bukky Bakray, Micheal Ward, Letitia Wright, Daniel Kaluuya, John Boyega, and Tom Hardy
  • The shortlist will be announced 1st February when voting will open to the British public at
  • Nominations for all categories at the EE British Academy Film Awards will be announced on 3rd February 2022, with the ceremony being broadcast on Sunday 13th March on BBC One
Event: BAFTA Mask Photo ShootDate: 7 February 2008Venue: BAFTA, 195 Piccadilly -

A statement from BAFTA regarding apologies issued by The Times and Mail Online

25 June 2021
  • The Times has apologised after making false and defamatory claims in articles regarding the Bafta Chair Krishnendu Majumdar and Bafta’s decision to present Noel Clarke with an OBCC award.
  • The Mail Online has also issued an apology
  • Both publications accept there are no “close links” between Bafta Chair and Clarke.
  • Decision to allow Clarke to receive a previously announced award was determined by the lack of evidence Bafta had at the time of having to make its decision on whether to proceed with the presentation.