You are here

EE British Academy Film Awards: Key Dates and Rules Published

5 August 2015

London, 5 August 2015: The British Academy of Film and Television Arts announced today a list of key dates for the EE British Academy Film Awards in 2016. As previously announced, the ceremony will take place on Sunday 14 February at The Royal Opera House in London’s Covent Garden.

The key dates in the calendar are summarised below. More information, along with the Awards’ official Rules and Guidelines, can be found at


Monday 9 November – Entry deadline

Wednesday 9 December – Round One voting opens

Thursday 17 December – Qualified films must screen to BAFTA members before this date


Monday 4 January – Round One voting closes (12.00 GMT)

Wednesday 6 January – EE Rising Star Award Nominations Announcement

Friday 8 January – Nominations Announcement; Round Two voting opens

Wednesday 10 February – Round Two voting closes (18.00 GMT)

Friday 12 February – Latest date for entered films to have been on general release

Sunday 14 February – EE British Academy Film Awards

For further information, please contact:

Vicky Grayson / 020 3003 6327 / [email protected]


The British Academy of Film and Television Arts is an independent charity that supports, develops and promotes the art forms of the moving image by identifying and rewarding excellence, inspiring practitioners and benefiting the public. In addition to its Awards ceremonies, BAFTA has a year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – featuring workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes – in the UK, USA and Asia; it offers unique access to the world’s most inspiring talent and connects with a global audience of all ages and backgrounds. BAFTA relies on income from membership subscriptions, individual donations, trusts, foundations and corporate partnerships to support its ongoing outreach work. To access the best creative minds in film, television and games production, visit For more, visit