You are here

Nominees and special guests announced ahead of this Thursday’s 20th BAFTA Games Awards

10 April 2024
Event: BAFTA Mask Photo ShootDate: 7 February 2008Venue: BAFTA, 195 Piccadilly -BAFTA/Marc Hoberman
  • Attendees and presenters announced today for the first time
  • Dr Mick Donegan MBE to be presented the Special Award on behalf of UK gaming charity SpecialEffect
  • Phil Wang to host the ceremony, with Lucy James and Jane Douglas hosting the red carpet
  • Ceremony to be livestreamed on BAFTA’s YouTube, Twitch and X channels

Today, BAFTA unveils the attending nominees and guest presenters for the 20th BAFTA Games Awards this Thursday 11 April, for Britain’s biggest night of games.

The BAFTA Games Awards will be hosted by Phil Wang for the first time and will be livestreamed to audiences across the globe, on BAFTA’s YouTube, Twitch, and X channels.

Emma Baehr, Executive Director of Awards & Content said: ‘We are pleased to welcome this year’s nominees to the 20th BAFTA Games Awards this Thursday, bringing some of the best games creators from across the world together to celebrate 40 incredible games and the teams that made them. With comedian Phil Wang on hosting duties, it promises to be an entertaining show for all our nominees and guests at the Queen Elizabeth Hall, and everyone watching at home worldwide.’


Nominees confirmed to date include (in alphabetical order)Petri Alanko, Brendan Angelides, Georg Backer, Stephen Barton, Jay Baylis, Samantha Béart, Mathieu Beaudelin, Jeppe Carlsen, Tom Coxon, Chandana Ekanayake, Liam Esler, Rod Fergusson, Gwendelyn Foster, Aj Grand-Scrutton, Gordy Haab, Jaeho Hwang, Ralph Ineson, Meghna Jayanth, Nadji Jeter, John Johanas, Shahrin Khan, Sam Lake, Yuri Lowenthal, Walter Mair, Charlie Managhan, Joel Mason, George McDaniel, John Mueller, Sean Murray, Neil Newbon, Thomas Panuel, Kevin Poupard, Christopher Rodriguez, Kyle Rowley, Borislav Slavov, Matthew Stark, David Stenton, Tim Symons, Alan Tew, Nadia Thorne, Stuart Tilley, Tony Todd, Amelia Tyler, Jan-Bart van Beek, Swen Vincke, Tracy Wiles, Andrew Wincott, Maciej Włodarkiewicz, James Worrall, and Elie Young.

Presenters confirmed to date include (in alphabetical order)
Shelley Blond, Asa Butterfield, Craig Duncan, CyborgAngel, Ebonix, Ellie Gibson, David Harewood, Tamoor Hussain, Sir Ian Livingstone, Eleanor Matsuura, Daniel Pemberton, John Romero, Danny Sapani, Ben Starr, Sweet Anita, Inel Tomlinson and Yammy.

Special Award Recipient
The BAFTA Special Award will be presented to Dr Mick Donegan MBE, on behalf of SpecialEffect, the UK gaming charity which uses specialised technology to enhance access to video games and creative self-expression for people with a wide range of disabilities. As previously announced here.

The 20th BAFTA Games Awards ceremony will be hosted by comedian and game player Phil Wang at Southbank Centre’s Queen Elizabeth Hall, offering audiences at home an unmissable night of entertainment.

The red carpet will be hosted by Lucy James and Jane Douglas, LIVE on BAFTA’s social channels YouTube, Twitch, and X , 17.45-18:45 BST, giving audiences exclusive access to all the arrivals.

Media Enquiries


For any interview and asset requests or for more information please contact The Story Mob: [email protected]


Augustin Wecxsteen [email protected]


BAFTA – the British Academy of Film and Television Arts - is a world-leading independent arts charity that brings the very best work in film, games and television to public attention and supports the growth of creative talent in the UK and internationally. Through its Awards ceremonies and year-round programme of learning events and initiatives – which includes workshops, masterclasses, scholarships, lectures and mentoring schemes in the UK, USA and Asia – BAFTA identifies and celebrates excellence, discovers, inspires and nurtures new talent, and enables learning and creative collaboration. For more, visit BAFTA is a registered charity (no. 216726).