You are here

The Britannia Awards

15 July 2013
Robert De Niro receives the Stanley Kubrick Britannia Award for Excellence in FilmBAFTA Los Angeles/Berliner Studios

The Britannia Award is the highest accolade presented by BAFTA Los Angeles, and is a celebration of achievement honoring individuals and companies who have dedicated their careers or corporate missions to advancing the art-forms of the moving image.

The Awards are presented annually at The Britannia Awards gala dinner, where peers and colleagues celebrate the work and accomplishments of the distinguished honorees.

A Brief History

The first Britannia Award was presented in 1989 to Albert R. "Cubby" Broccoli, pioneer producer of the James Bond films. Known as The Britannia Award for Excellence in Film, the honor has subsequently been awarded to Michael Caine, Peter Ustinov, Martin Scorsese, Anthony Hopkins, Dustin Hoffman, John Travolta, Howard Stringer, the late Stanley Kubrick (in whose name the film award is now given), Steven Spielberg, George Lucas, Hugh Grant, Tom Hanks, Tom Cruise, Clint Eastwood, Denzel Washington, Robert De Niro, Jeff Bridges, Warren Beatty, Daniel Day Lewis and George Clooney.

BAFTA Los Angeles Britannia Awards Page Picture 1BAFTA Los Angeles/Berliner StudiosKirk Douglas receives his Britannia Award from Arnold Schwarzenegger BAFTA Los Angeles Britannia Awards Page Picture 2 1BAFTA Los Angeles/Berliner StudiosKate Winslet accepts her Britannia Award for British Artist of the Year

The Britannia Awards Today

Since the gala's inception, the Britannia Awards ceremony has expanded to include additional presentations.

The John Schlesinger Britannia Award for Excellence in Directing is awarded to a director whose work is distinguished by ingenuity. Past recipients have included Anthony Minghella, Christopher Nolan, Quentin Tarantino, Danny Boyle, Jim Sheridan, David Yates and Peter Weir.

The Albert R. Brocolli Britannia Award for Worldwide Contribution to Filmed Entertainment is reserved for the few extraordinary luminaries whose careers have had a truly global impact including Dame Elizabeth Taylor, Kirk Douglas, John Lasseter and Sidney Poitier. In 2012, video games pioneer Will Wright became the first ever Britannia Award recipient from the world of Games.

In 2006, the Britannia Award for British Artist of the Year was added to honor outstanding contemporary British talent such as Kate Winslett, Emily Blunt, Rachel Weisz, Tilda Swinton, Michael Sheen, Helena Bonham Carter, Daniel Craig and Benedict Cumberbatch.

The Britannia Humanitarian Award was created to honor those who have used the moving image to promote charitable causes such as Don Cheadle for his dedication to Rwanda and Darfur and to Richard Curtis who co-created Comic Relief and led the efforts of “Idol Gives Back.” Most recently, the award was presented to Idris Elba for his work with The Prince's Trust.

Through a special arrangement with the Chaplin family, in 2010 BAFTA Los Angeles introduced the Charlie Chaplin Britannia Award for Excellence in Comedy with Betty White honored for her career spanning over 60 years. In 2011 the award was presented to Ben Stiller and in 2012, South Park team Matt Stone and Trey Parker were honored. In 2013 the award was presented to Sacha Baron Cohen, who's acceptance speech broke many online viewing records.

Proceeds from the gala ceremony support BAFTA Los Angeles' ongoing education, outreach and archival projects, as well as raising funds for other chosen charities and organizations.

BAFTA Los Angeles Britannia Awards Page Picture 3BAFTA Los AngelesTom Hanks accept his Britannia Awards at the 2004 ceremony BAFTA Los Angeles Britannia Awards Page Picture 4BAFTA Los Angeles/Lucy NicholsonGeorge Lucas with his colleagues Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher and Steven Spielberg