You are here

Lord Attenborough Filmography

28 May 2008
Producer/Director Richard Attenborough and Actor Ben Kingsley on the set of Gandhi (1982)© Frank Connor

From The Angry Silence and Guns of Batasi to Gandhi and Cry Freedom, Richard Attenborough has excelled as an actor, director and producer in a superlative career.

Richard Attenborough has acting credits in the following films unless otherwise stated:

1942 In Which We Serve
1943 Schweik’s New adventures
1943 The Hundred Pound Window
1945 Journey Together
1945 The True Glory
1946 A Matter of Life and Death
1946 School for Secrets
1947 The Man Within
1947 Dancing with Crime
1947 Brighton Rock
1948 London Belongs to Me
1948 The Guinea Pig
1949 The Lost People
1949 Boys in Brown
1949 Morning Departure
1951 Hell is Sold Out
1951 The Magic Box
1952 The Gift Horse
1952 Father’s Doing Fine
1953 Eight O’Clock Walk
1955 The Ship that Died of Shame
1955 Private’s Progress
1956 The Baby and the Battleship
1956 Brothers in Law
1957 The Scamp
1958 Dunkirk
1958 The Man Upstairs
1958 Sea of Sand
1958 Danger Within
1959 I’m All Right, Jack
1959 Jet Storm
1959 S.O.S Pacific
1959 The Angry Silence (Actor, Producer)
1960 The League of Gentlemen
1960 Man in the Moon (Director for Allied Film Makers)
1961 Only Two Can Play
1961 All Night Long
1961 Whistle Down the Wind (Producer)
1961 Victim (Director for Allied Film Makers)
1962 The Dock Brief
1962 The Great Escape
1962 Life for Ruth (Director for Allied Film Makers)
1962 The L-Shaped Room (Producer)
1964 Séance on a Wet Afternoon
1964 The Third Secret
1964 Guns at Batasi
1965 The Flight of the Phoenix
1966 The Sand Pebbles
1967 Doctor Dolittle
1968 The Bliss of Mrs Blossom
1968 Only When I Larf
1969 The Last Grenade
1969 The Magic Christian
1969 Oh! What a Lovely War (Director)
1970 David Copperfield
1970 A Severed Head
1970 Loot
1970 10 Rillington Place
1972 Young Winston (Director)
1974 And Then There Were None
1974 Rosebud
1975 Brannigan
1975 Conduct Unbecoming
1977 A Bridge Too Far (Director)
1977 The Chess Players
1978 Magic (Director)
1979 The Human Factor
1982 Gandhi (Director)
1985 A Chorus Line (Director)
1985 Mother Theresa (Narrator)
1987 Cry Freedom (Director)
1992 Chaplin (Director)
1993 Jurassic Park
1993 Shadowlands (Director/Producer)
1994 Miracle on 34th Street
1996 E=MCsquared
1996 Hamlet
1996 In Love and War (Director/Producer)
1997 The Lost World: Jurassic Park
1998 Elizabeth
1999 Grey Owl
1999 Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
2002 Puckoon
2007 Closing the Ring (Director/Producer)

!!! Attenborough at the Awards

First nominated by the Academy in 1961 for his role in Guy Green's The Angry Silence (a film Attenborough also produced), a further British Actor nomination followed in 1963 for The Dock Brief. It wasn't until 1965 though that Attenborough finally won the British Actor Award for his performances in Guns of Batasi and Seance on a Wet Afternoon.

The Academy first recognised Attenborough's directorial talents in 1970 by nominating his film Oh! What a Lovely War, but he missed out to John Schlesinger's Midnight Cowboy. However, at the Awards in 1983 Gandhi brought him multiple success. The film maker took home Masks in the Best Film and Direction categories while Ben Kingsley picked up Acting and Newcomer Awards and Rohini Hattangadi won for Best Supporting Actress.

Attenborough also notched up another double-win in 1998 as Cry Freedom won both the Direction and Best Film BAFTAs. His biopic of writer CS Lewis, Shadowlands, won him yet another mask in 1994 and the film received two further nominations in the Best Film and Direction Categories.